You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delta IV Rocket Launch

That is awesome! I lived at Patrick AFB for almost a year and love, love, loved watching the launches.

You really captured the experience and I applaud your intelligence in staying right at the camping site to watch the launch at night. Oh, no! I had to go to Jetty Park! And I even knew better, but, it was the last launch of the Space Shuttle. Who could miss that? Several scrubs later, it launched.

I especially like your shot of the launch pad. Pretty cool and you got a great shot of it!

Thank you for the awesome share of your experience!

!tip

Sort:  

I worked for the Air Force at the Cape for 15 years. I was fortunate enough to watch that last shuttle launch from the parking lot at our building! If you haven't seen it yet, the new Atlantis exhibit at KSC is awesome.

I had a friend named Chris who worked at Cape Canaveral during the last launch also! I wonder if you knew him? He was in the Air Force. I'm just fortunate to be able to see some of the launches up close and personal.

Oh wow! I worked for the Launch Group. Where did your friend work?

In actuality he worked for NASA through the Air Force, before they trashed the astronaut track. I want to say he worked for Mission Control

I probably wouldn't have known him if he worked for NASA. I only interacted with people on the Air Force side and only small groups of them.

Ah! Probably not then. Anyway, it is always nice to know someone in the right places that love to share that part of their life.

And I actually did see the Atlantis exhibit

It is totally sweet!!!!! Yes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67508.70
ETH 3753.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73