Salute Your Health! | The Art of Fermentation with Carrots!

DSC_0003 (8).jpg

What's Up Doc? Carrots!


What a sweet and beautiful vegetable full of Vitamin A. One we all know helps to protect our vision.

DSC_0003 (2c).jpg


But there’s more…


They’re full of beta carotene which has also proven to reduce the occurrence of some forms of cancer. Potassium packed too, a super blood pressure moderator!


Know someone with Hormone Imbalances?


Carrots may help!


How you may ask?


Well, the fiber found in raw carrots will bind to unhealthy toxins or endotoxins found in the unhealthy bacteria in your gut, flushing them out of your system. Unhealthy gut and liver bacteria can cause hormone imbalances, bloating, constipation and gas. Wow!


Don’t peel those carrots!


The fiber from the carrot skin will help bind those endotoxins and help remove them from our bodies. Some studies have shown that women eating just one raw unpeeled carrot per day helped eliminate pre-menstrual symptoms and migraines as well as lower estrogen levels.

And of course, carrots just happen to taste great!


I use carrots in my daily juices and smoothies, entrees and lately fun desserts! I guess good old Bugs Bunny was on to something, lol

But did you know…


fermenting carrots only enhances their nutritional value! Yes, really! By fermenting this orange taste of sunshine they are packed with probiotics, just like what you find in yogurt but better! The fermentation process also produces lactic acid which not only makes the raw vegetables more nutritious but easier to digest and safe from E.coli. E.coli bacteria is often found on raw vegetables but the fermentation process kills off this potential bacteria.More information and more recipes ideas for carrots here!

Fermenting carrots is so simple!

All you need

  • Fresh Organic Carrots
  • Sea Salt
  • Filtered Water
  • Optional: Your favorite herbs, mix and match!
  • Glass Pint jars with lids

Note: Always make sure your jars are clean and sterilized

Wash and slice…


your carrots in even lengths. You’ll want about 1” head room between your carrots and the top of your jar so cut accordingly. Feel free to include other vegetable favorites! This time I included Red and white onions!
DSC_0005 (2).jpg

Really pack the carrots…


into the jar. You don’t want them to float when you pour the salt brine over them.
DSC_0012 (2).jpg

Mix the brine…


by combining 2 cups filtered water with 1 tablespoon sea salt. Stir until the salt has dissolved and then pore over the carrots until they’re completely submerged. * I like to have about 1” brine covering the tops.* Wipe the top of your jar, cap with a lid and oh, don’t forget to label with the date. If you’re like me you forget what day you started the process. Place the jar in a flat dish away from direct sunlight for 5-10 days.
DSC_0015 (2).jpg

I had just enough…


brine left over to make a second pint! Mixed veggies! Really press those veggies into the jar with a wooden spoon. You don’t want them floating to the top of the brine.
DSC_0022 (8).jpg

Labeled and ready to go!


DSC_0034 (2).jpg


I popped the lids each day to relieve any extra gas build-up. Tasted after day 4 and by day 5, I liked the tart flavor. Time to enjoy!


Voila! Saturday night Salads, topped with fermented Veggies!

DSC_0014 (2m).jpg


Sauerkraut, Carrots and Mixed Veggies, light, tart and so healthy! The combinations are endless! Eaten on salads, as a side dish or even alone, your body will thank you!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 467

🎁 Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Sublime Sunday City Reflections Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Mmm, yummmm. A vitamin plus probiotics. So nice your super healthy fermented carrots. I’ try it soon, seems delicious.

Woop woop!! look at her go now, people!!! I am SO HAPPY to see you creating so many creative and colorful health-giving ferments. This makes me seriously happy. Love you!

Such great info. I didn’t know carrots had so many amazing properties. You’re right — Bugs Bunny really was onto something!

I still haven't done my radishes yet! Thank you for the reminder! I have some beets that I might just ferment that I bought at the market yesterday in the meantime. Though I bet those carrots are quite delicious, as well!

That’s such a cool Idea I have never tried that but I am intrigued to try it for sure
Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Another definite one to try, what amazing health benefits, many I did not know of, thank you Mrs Bird:)

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember when I was just a young boy my mother always canned veggies. I should try it myself

Thanks for the tip... love carrots and love fermented foods. Def trying this... will need to find more jars though lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66530.02
ETH 3495.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64