Healthy Eats! | Saturday’s Spicy Seafood Stuffed Alligator Pear

DSC_0020 (2).jpg

Have you tried any new fruits or vegetables this week?


I love visiting local markets and finding something new and fresh! I really make it my mission each time I shop! I feel it energizes the weekly menu and encourages us to eat fresh foods. I also hit the fruits and vegetables first! I find that by filling my cart with fresh fruits and vegetables I buy very little in the other areas which house the “processed food” products.


Look what I found this week!

DSC_0012 (c2).jpg

Perhaps an Alligator Pear by another name?


From a distance I thought it was an eggplant due to its deep red color. When I got closer I still couldn’t identify it. It wasn’t green or black and bumpy; it was a beautiful rich dark red color. This fruit was an Avocado, also known in Southern States as the Alligator Pear! The store labeled the avocado as a Florida Avocado, but I wanted to know more! A quick search on the computer and I realized there are quite a few varieties of avocado! 32 in fact! Wow!

Hardee Avocado


is the name and its grown on a small scale in the state of Florida. The skin bruises very easily so it’s not very popular with commercial growers. Hardee Avocados contain less fat per serving so I was anxious to see how it tasted! A light cold dinner sounded good to both of us so this was the perfect opportunity to try our new Avocado!
todaysjourney.jpg

Spicy Seafood Stuffed Alligator Pear

From the Fridge

  • Ripe Avocado
  • Horseradish Sauce
  • Mayonnaise
  • Red Onion
  • Sweet Peppers
  • Cucumber
  • Salt/Pepper
  • Fresh Cooked Shrimp
  • Fresh Crab Meat

Dice the Red Onion…


Cucumber and Sweet Peppers.
DSC_0011 (2).jpg

Shrimp and Crab…


have been cooked and rinsed and chilled. I added the diced veggies to the bowl and gently tossed everything together.
DSC_0012 (2).jpg

Horseradish sauce first!


This really livens up the salad! Next fold in the mayo and add salt and pepper to taste. If you have time let it chill for a couple of hours or even overnight. The flavors will blend nicely!
DSC_0018 (2s).jpg


Dinner Time! Slice the avocado and scoop out a bit of the pulp to make room for the salad! At this point Mr. Bird was quite excited about dinner. Having grown up in California, he loves avocados! Anything avocado is a winner with him!


Cheers to Alligator Pears, the Hardee Avocado!


DSC_0023 (2).jpg


We loved these avocados! The taste and texture was just what we expected from an avocado. This spicy seafood salad is such a light and easy lunch or dinner I hope you’ll try it and let me know what you think! Have a great weekend my friends!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif

steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Avo, shrimp AND crab, wow! This must have been sooo good Mrs Bird, all of my favourite things! This is a meal fit for a king...or queen;)

It was a nice light, cool meal, just what we needed because it is soooo hot and humid right now. I'm so glad you enjoyed it, thank you my friend! Love hearing from you :)

I have never seen that before how interesting and what an interesting dish you came up with your creativity with cooking is amazing

Well, the family is pretty patient which makes experimenting fun. Thank you @tattoodjay, you're kind words are so appreciated :)

I suspect there not only patient but also look forward to seeing what you will come up with next I know I would be :)

The dish looks yummy! Strawberries have been out here and strawberry shortcake has been the recent treat. Not as healthy as your dish as I top it with whipped cream or ice cream. 😊

Thank you @redheadpei :) I'm sure you enjoyed that whipped cream, I haven't had that for quite a while, but I do remember, yum! Glad you enjoyed those berries!

It looks so tasty piled in the alligator pear! So delicious!

It looks so tasty
Piled in the alligator
Pear! So delicious!

                 - justatouchfey


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you @justatouchfey :) Nice "sandwich" idea on a hot day! We do love our avocados!!

That looks good. I never heard of an alligator pear. I guess Florida is a good place for fruits.

Alligator pear is what the south named the Avocado. Cute name huh? We do have a lot of fruit living in tropical climate. We are so fortunate! Thanks @abitcoinskeptic!

What an interesting and appealing recipe 👌👍👍 That looks and sounds off the charts delicious 💕💕🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @thereikiforest! I'm glad you enjoyed this :) We do love our avocados and when it's hot, I'm always looking for something cold and light! This fit the bill and like a sandwich without the bread!

I love avocado! But, I have never heard of the Hardee Avocado before now, and I appreciate your writing about it! I am so amazed at the unique foods and ingredients you find!

It was new to me @thekittygirl! When I heard the fat content was lower than the Haas I wanted to see if the taste would change. It tasted the same, the avocado flesh wasn't quite as bright and green. That was the only difference I could see.

I just ate and seeing this made me hungry again, well I do not resist the avocado, all its species are delicious, at dinner, breakfast, lunch or snack is perfect jajajaja I declare myself an avocado lover!

Me toooooo @fmbs25, avocado goes with everything!! :) I do love it for any meal or snack, including desserts! Can't get enough of them, lol Thank you @fmbs25

It was!!!!! I'm glad you enjoyed it @rem-steem! Thanks for stopping by!

For the first time I hear about this kind of avocado. Does it taste different from those that are more common?

Actually they do taste the same! I hadn't seen it before and wondered myself. The pit in the middle is smaller and because of that it rolls around in the fruit and the avocado fruit bruises because of that. The fruit isn't as bright green as most avocados, but that's okay :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74