Healthy Eats | Red Bananas and Chocolate Chips!

DSC_0018 (2).jpg

Have you ever eaten a Red Banana?


Yes, a red banana! You know I love to eat new fruits and veggies whenever I can so when I noticed these cute little guys, I just had to check them out! We have friends stopping by today with teenage boys; they’ll like this sweet treat!


DSC_0002 (2).jpg


When I brought them home I thought I would do a little research to see what I was planning to eat! Good old Wikipedia came to the rescue and provided some interesting information. This banana is a triploid cultivar of the wild banana Musa Acuminata which belongs to the common Yellow banana Cavendish Group of bananas. When ripe, the flesh is slightly pink and sweeter than the common Cavendish variety. Some say they have a slight raspberry taste. As you see the skin is red in color and they’re ripe when the skin turns dark red often with black spots or streaks. These bananas contain more beta carotene and Vitamin C than yellow bananas!


They have finally ripened!

todaysjourney.jpg

Red Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

All the stuff

  • Gluten free Oats (2 cups)
  • Really ripe Red Bananas ( qty 3)
  • Fresh Eggs or Chia Eggs (qty 2)
  • Coconut or Greek Yogurt (2/3 cup)
  • Organic Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Baking Powder (1 1/2 tsp)
  • Baking Soda (1/2 tsp)
  • Vanilla (1/2 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (dash)
  • Dairy Free Dark Chocolate Chips (1/2 cup)
  • Walnuts (1/2 cup chopped)

Note: if using Chia eggs: 1 egg = 1 tbsp. Chia Seed + 3 tbsp. filtered water. Let sit 10 minutes before using

These muffins are...


a great last minute treat! I use them for breakfast, in lunches and as a late afternoon snack. Place all of the ingredients except the chips and walnuts in your favorite blender or mixer.
DSC_0001 (3).jpg

Then we blend…


until your mixture is well combined and smooth. Now stir in the Chocolate chips and chopped Walnuts. How easy is that?
DSC_0006 (2).jpg

Pour, pour…


the batter into your muffin tin. I just had to try a little taste…I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.
DSC_0008 (2).jpg

5 minutes…


Is all it takes! What an easy recipe! Now into the oven at 400 degrees for 16 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let these little guys set for about 10 minutes. I know torture…
DSC_0010 (2).jpg

Voila! A taste of Red Banana Chocolate Delicious!


DSC_0020 (2a).jpg


Do try these! Start to finish less than 30 minutes! Sub in your favorite nuts! Your family will love these! They’re gluten free and dairy free! No processed sugars and if you want vegan, use Chia or Flax eggs! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

it seems so delicious and healthy. I will make it with your recipe. thanks

Aw, you are kind! You'll have to let me know what you think! They certainly didn't last too long around here :)

I haven't tried the red bananas yet as they are not available here but I do have red banana powder at home. I was naively thinking that the powder would be red, lol :D I was disappointed when I opened the package.

Your muffins look yummy! I haven't made muffins for ages and I think that now it's the time to change it :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good Thursday!

You would like these, I think they're better than cavandish bananas. Creamier and a bit of a raspberry taste. These didn't last too long with guests around :) I'll need to make another batch!

That a nice idea

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for stopping in! Appreciate your kind words!

I've never heard of red bananas, I will have to keep an eye out for that! However, I might just use the recipe for the regular bananas!

I made these muffins with regular bananas the first several times then I found these. This recipe is really versatile, you can add many different fruits! :) Thanks @bengy, I appreciate your kind words!

No I have never tasted a red banana. Very interesting. So is the taste somewhat bitter and a little sweet? These muffins look really good @birdsinparadise!! Great pictures too!

Actually they're creamier and taste a bit like raspberries. I like them! They're great in smoothies as well. Evidently the muffins were good....they didn't last long! Thanks @crosheille :)

Oooohhh creamier! They sound delicious!! Lol I’m not surprised they didn’t last long!

Never seen nor heard about red bananas @birdsinparadise, your muffins look delicious!

Thanks @lizelle. I had noticed them for a while before I tried them. Glad i Have, they're great in smoothies too. Creamier and a bit of a raspberry taste. I hope you see them some time :)

Some say they have a slight raspberry taste.

Okay, enough saying, where can I buy them? :3

Imagining the taste of bananas and chocolates blending together (maybe with a slight taste of raspberries...?)...I can't hold it anymore, it just looks too tasty. They look equally good as well!

hehehe, you need to make them!!!! If you can't find the red use Cavandish, I'm sure you can find those readily :) Glad you enjoyed them! Hope you'll try them

I am so hungry

Posted using Partiko Android

These muffins will do that you you! You'll have to try making them some time!

I have had red bananas and yes!!! I totally agree that they are sweeter and admittedly more admired in my house that the yellow banana. My market carries them on a regular basis and they are in great demand here, so the word is out on the streets!!!

It was so much easier when nobody knew!

The recipe looks divine! Oh, goodness, you really ramp up the goodness on your food. Thank you for this and I have already copied it down so that I can try this with my family. A few of them in my house want to be adopted by you. I hope there is not a problem with this. :)

Thank you again!!! Always such a delightful treat to read you!

!tip

Hahaha, well you are too kind @dswigle! We certainly have room for more in the Bird's nest! I am so glad you have eaten red bananas! You are the first to say so! Aren't they wonderful? Love them in smoothies! I am sad I haven't tried them years ago. I hope you'll try them and let me know what you make and if you make any delicious changes. As always you are so kind, I love hearing from you :) you are a ray of sunshine! Have a blessed day my friend, and thank you so much for the tip!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thank you @theluvbug! So appreciation your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86