Healthy Eats! | Gametime Blueberry Hummus with Lemon Chips

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0038 (2).jpg

Fall is here! I can't believe tomorrow is the first day of the fall! Where did summer go?

This time of year brings cooler weather and time spent with family and friends watching football, soccer and tennis. Bringing healthy snacks to pitch-in gatherings is always nice…I mean you can only eat so many chips right?

How about a fruity protein dip?

We love blueberries! We visited the market the other day blueberries were on sale so we picked up several packages. I could eat them every day, in juices, yogurt, smoothies, yum! Since I had them on hand I tried to think about how I could use them in a dip. Packed with vitamins, antioxidants and low in sugar they're perfect for a healthy snack!

DSC_0018 (2).jpg

Energy packed protein dip...quick and easy to make


I knew had dry chickpeas in the pantry, so I thought why not make a creamy hummus? Hummus is an amazing protein packed snack! Full of fiber and healthy fats, hummus pairs well with so many meals and snacks! Last night I covered the chickpeas with water and let them sit overnight. Did you know chickpeas are high in protein and fiber? They’re so easy to work with, great tossed in salads and sandwiches. You can cook them or work with them raw. Of course they’re more nutrient dense raw, but it’s all up to preference. I decided to simmer them until they were slightly soft.

Fresh juice from 1 lemon....


1 cup chickpeas (liquid too!) ½ cup Tahini and a dash of sea salt were all blended together in my blender. I drizzled a bit of Olive Oil into the blender as needed. Taste it and you may need to add more lemon juice or if you wish water if it’s too thick.
DSC_0016 (2).jpg

I was pretty liberal ...


with the blueberries, I figure you can’t have too many, lol. They blended beautifully, don’t you love the color? I left a few whole berries to stir into the hummus; I knew Mr. Bird would love a fresh bite of berry with his hummus! Taste it and see what you think! Need more lemon? Blueberries? Now into the fridge to chill overnight!
DSC_0022 (2).jpg

This morning...


I made sweet little lemon chips to serve along with the dip. I thought I would slice apples and cucumbers to include as well. I mixed ½ cup Oats, 1/4 cup coconut flour and 1/3 cup unsweetened Coconut together, added 1 flax egg and 1 tsp baking soda. To help bind the crispy chip I included 2 tbsp. coconut oil and 3 tbsp. Maple Syrup. Lemon juice was the final ingredient; 2 tbsp. would add the citrus taste I wanted. I thought it would be fun to use my candy molds to make perfect little crisp! If you want thin chips, roll the batter out and cut into thin cracker like crisps. Into the oven, about 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees, just until golden!

I think we’re ready for the game! Cheers!


DSC_0032 (2).jpg


This humus is amazing with waffles or pancakes too! It was a hit with the gang, just in time for kickoff! Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!


And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

This is quite unexpected! Is it sweet?

It tastes like blueberries :) Although thick and substantial like hummus. Not overly sweet, no I wanted the blueberries to shine. The crackers round out the taste with lemon, yum!

I just love the colour of your hummus, I would never have thought of making a blueberry one, it looks so pretty with your crispy lemon bars, perfectly healthy but delicious gametime snack!
Strange to think that on our side of the world we're into spring, everyone is enjoying it and saying if only it could stay like this but before we know it the humidity and intense heat will be back!
I've said it before and I'm saying it again, lucky Mr Bird;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I enjoyed a raspberry hummus with a friend and I thought hey, I love blueberries they have to be tasty too! Trying to add those healthy snacks into the gametime treats...good for all of us. So you're into spring, we're beginning fall, lol love it! :) Thanks my sweet friend!

Fruity hummus - what an interesting idea!! I'm assuming no salt or loads of garlic LOL. Locally I would do it with raw soaked cashews (which is also what I sue for my pesto base). My mind is ticking.... :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I have tried raspberry hummus as well, sooooo good! This is wonderful on pita bread too, I'm sure it would be wonderful with most fruits. Just a different take on the standard hummus, lol No garlic needed! :) Thanks @artemislives!!

now thats a healthy and great looking game time snack, hard ot believe its going to be fall tomorrow summer seems to have gone so fast

Thanks @tattoodjay, fall is in the air! It's funny the way the atmosphere shifts, even in tropical weather, you can definitely feel the change in the air!

I noticed today when I was out and about just in the last few days the colors have really started changing

😎 Blueberries!!! 👀Hummus?😍😍😍

Wow... That's an insanely awesome idea for a yummy healthy snack! I'm feeling it ✅👍👍😋😋🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes!!!!!! I know you would lovvvvvve it @thereikiforest! Thank you my friend :)

Wow! That's pretty inventive! I cant even imagine what a blueberry hummous would taste like!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I have to tell you a friend shared a raspberry hummous with us one day and it was delicious! :) I thought, hey I love blueberries, I wonder what it would taste like....and here you have it! lol Perhaps you'll try it some time...and let me know how you modify the recipe!! Thanks!

I never thought about adding blueberries to hummus. I will need to try that.

One of my friends shared a raspberry hummus one day and it was delicious. I love blueberries so I thought why not give it a whirl! It was quite tasty and who doesn't love the color too :) Thanks @mariannewest!

The cake looks great! I am convinced that it is tastier than it looks.

This dip was so tasty @bluemoon, great with crackers or even on pita bread as a spread :) Blueberries are such a wonderful fruit! Thanks!

Yes, blueberries are tasty and good for our health.

Nyum..nyum.. yummy, I think I'll beat this first before the kick-off😂😂 what a wonderful presentation as always Mrs @birdsinparadise 😉 I like the blueberry hummus but.. that lemon chips Are Rockin!

Thank you @cicisaja! So glad to see you :) We do love our blueberries don't we? Lemon chips were just perfect, but I'll have to share my carrot chips, they were even better!

Wow, my father would die for this! He's crazy for blueberries and he would definitely enjoy a piece :D

We love blueberries as well, in fact I have a tendency to overdo when I use them, lol This is a great dip or spread which is healthy!! So many are not, just a little twist on the standard hummus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59