Church Wilne, Derbyshire, England UK

in #powerhousecreatives6 years ago (edited)

Saint Chad's Church, locally known as Church Wilne - Derbyshire, UK

The church's position is situated in the older village of Church Wilne and can be found by post code DE72 3QH (the church is 0.2 miles from this point). It is part of the Wilne with Draycott Parish.

Welcome to St Chad's Church, Wilne. There has been Christian worship at this site since 822 AD, but parts of the current church building date from the 13th century. The top of the porch and tower are 14th century.

sklzuo1ktk.jpg

There are other historical features such the font thought to be dated between the 7th & 9th centuries, original Flemish windows in the Willoughby chapel and a alabaster monument in memory of Sir John Willoughby.

mpuzx90ic5.jpg

Parts of the church were damaged by fire in 1917 but sensitively restored by Curry and Thompson. The church is a Grade 1 listed building.'

(Information Source https://derbyshirechurches.org/church/wilne-st-chad)

y38gekcmq3.jpg

headstones wm small.jpg

I used to visit this Church a lot as a child. There is also a beautiful lake which you can wander around and bird watch to your hearts content.

aq4ymafg1u.jpg

Sometimes the paths can become a little muddy, but they are still accessible for the most part...

frkx0t5hm5.jpg

There are always an abundance of birds, even in this cold windy weather...

ibc2twxmrb.jpg

Some of the most majestic in the land I would say...

nf51paezve.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed this little journey around our ancient Church!

Thank you for visiting :) Much love, Cheryl xx

BTS address: bb-bulldogs


A huge thank you to @zord189 for my bouncing bullies signature!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

That first image with the gravestones right beside the church... is almost... creepy to some degree.

Yes, I love a good creepy image lol I almost included this one too...1.jpg
But I thought it might scare people lol xD
These were tucked away at the back of the church under a huge tree which was sheltering the head stones

Wow. It's just stunning. And that's a pretty good streak on the time of service :)

I guess I didn't realize you were in/near Derbyshire. I worked for a couple of years with a really talented writer (newspaper by trade) that was just completely mad with the Derby football team. To the point where I am one of only about 7 native born Americans that knows how to pronounce that name :)

Good to see you back! Thank you!

Thank you Big T!
Yes, I was born in Derbyshire/Nottinghamshire (a small village that sat between the two cities and couldn't decide which shire it belonged to haha)
I now live in Sherwood Forest in Nottingham, but my Dad still lives near the church so I visit there when I can as it holds a lot of memories for me :)
There aren't many American's that can pronounce Derby correctly, you are right! haha xD
Cheryl x

Wow I love these historic shots! That photo of the lake, trees and sky is Amazing! Great photographing as always!! You Rock with that camera ;D

Thank you so much @crosheille :)

Gorgeous photography @beautifulbullies, I agree with @goldendawne, that first one does look eerie! It's probably odd, but I love walking through cemeteries, reading the headstones and imagining the stories behind them! Lovely walk:)

Haha People have called me sinister before because I love taking photos of old churches and graveyards, but I think there is so much beauty to be seen there :)

How lovely! The lake especially called to me, and the swans... I'd love to explore this area. Thanks for bringing it to me in photos. :)

It is lovely and the Swans are actually pretty friendly (for Swans haha). Although I don't tend to take my dogs there unless they are kept on a short lead :) Thank you so much!

Wow thanks for those amazing photos you share with us! Looks stunning.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are most welcome, thank you for dropping by and commenting too! :D

You are the most welcomed 😊 what camera did you se for the photography?

Posted using Partiko Android

@beautifulbullies Church Wilne looks so lovely... And so gothic 😍 i would love to visit this someday! But I haven't been to the UK before. It shall be on my list of places-to-go ((:

Do you live near here?

You should definitely add it to your travel list! :D
Yes, I live about a half hours drive from here. I lived just around the corner though when I was growing up, so I know it well :)

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Love you guys! :*

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=beautifulbullies
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=church-wilne-derbyshire-england-uk


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Look at you go!!!
These shots are beautiful
Almost like a painting
Gorgeous
Thank you for sharing these with us @beautifulbullies :D

Thank you :D So pleased you enjoyed them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32