We're Having A BABY!!!!! .. Pineapple Tales (Post 1 - Day 1)

290.JPG

Short Blog Entries..

Following the progress of our new baby Pineapple!

Several Years Ago ..

I would say roughly 10 years at this point, I had bought a Pineapple form the local grocery store. After cutting the top off and grilling the rest, I threw the top onto my compost pile. To my surprise, the top never did wilt and wither away, but rather began to grow and flourish in the pile of scraps. I eventually moved it to a quiet area of the garden so it could continue its second chance at life. By the time the growing season, here in New Jersey, was over and Falls chill was setting in, I decided to move the plant indoors. I carefully removed it from the garden, placing it into a pot with a bit of the soil it has now grown accustom to.

In The Garden ..

Here you can see the plant sitting at the end of the cucumber plants. :-O ... Oh, yea.. that's 45 cucumbers laying there. I eventually have to throw some out. Just too many and no one wants them. I can only eat so many.

IMG_5536.JPG

There She Is, Happy In Her Little Area Of The Garden ..

IMG_5536e.jpg

My Helpers ..

Molly and Pepper helping to tend the garden with their dad :-)

IMG_5534.JPG

Pepper Guarding The String-beans .. (sorry, I had to include it)

463.JPG

So It Found A Place Indoors ..

Among the rest of our house plants. Snuggled up to a very sunny corner of our home by a sliding glass door. A perfect area for sun loving plants.. nice and toasty there. The Original, along with another, remain in the same area today. The second plant was given to us by the original Pineapple plant. It grew a pineapple about 4 years after I brought it indoors. We ate it after it grew and turned yellow. I cut that top off and placed it into the garden the same way.. BAM! a second plant! Pictured here you will see all of my sun lovers including the two pineapple plants (far front right.. they look like Yucca Plants) ..

IMG_1880.JPG

The One On The Left..

Is the original plant and the one to the far right is her 1st baby :-)
IMG_1881.JPG

It's With Great Pleasure ..

Today that I announce a new addition to Brad's Pineapple Family .. A BABY PINEAPPLE is on the way!!!! If you look into the center of the plant, you can see it starting to form. I was trimming off some dead leaves and tending to all of the plants last week and I did NOT see any signs of a pineapple forming, so this truly is a surprise to us. I figure that this will be the perfect opportunity for me to document the progress and share with my fellow stemian followers. Sooooo... I will keep you posted on its progress as the weeks pass. Eventually it will bloom.. and that's pretty neat to see. Tiny purple flowers.. Can't Wait!

Here Are The First Few Pictures..

Taken on 3/23/2019 - For recording purposes were calling this Day 1 ..

IMG_1883.JPG

IMG_1884cu.jpg

So Stay Tuned ..

For the updates! I have to warn you though.. If everything works out, in the end things are not looking good for this little guy. Yummmmmm........ :-P

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

.................................

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

Sort:  

WOW AMAZING ! :O I didn't know pineapples can grow from the top part that we toss away??? So magical ! XD I love it~ and now it is growing a baby pineapple !!! Aaaaah~ Very cute and exciting !! :D :D :D

And your photos are so lovely! The lights so beautiful and bright, that greenness of your grass leaps off the screen for me :D

Of course, your little helpers steal a bit of thunder off your post, since they are super adorable XD Specially Miss Molly by the string beans :D She's so precious * ____ *

I await more posts about your new baby pineapple, for sure, Brand :D

Yes, they grow from the top part. From what I was told, when the pineapple is ready to be picked, the new plant is already formed. The leaves are placed in a spiral pattern.. next time you cut the top off, peal of each leaf one at a time. You will eventually see a few small white roots.. they are already there when you buy the Pineapple. You can plant it like that or rest it in a cup of water for a while first to let the roots grow. Pretty neat.

Those dogs always steal my thunder!! ;-) I'll let it slide this time. That's actually Pepper by the string beans. He is the curious one. Molly sits about 15 feet away.. she is absolutely sure the plants are out to get her. They move in the breeze and she doesn't like that. haha that silly dog :-P

Hmm!!! A new baby ehhh? Nom nom nom!
That sentiment sounds so wrong lol.
Bwahaha. Congrats on the little one. I hope it will grow to be just as delicious as its predecessors.

I know..right? then I thought oh well, I'm writing it that way anyhow. hehe. The last one we got was small.. size of a grapefruit, but supper sweet :-]


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you c-squared, curation trail voters and @scrawly!

I'm sorry to hear about those cucumbers. I hate waste so I try to somehow process everything what I have. Have you tried to make some pickled cucumber salad and sterilize it? It would last forever.. but well, if no one likes cucumbers then it probably wouldn't be the right solution either :)

What a coincidence with that pineapple! Lucky you! And congratulations to the new pineapple baby :)

Have a lovely day!

I added too much compost into the soil I guess and the Cucumbers loved it. I am not a huge fan of vinegar a the wife is not a huge fan of cucumbers. So either way we were doomed. I can just send them your way next time! hehe. I composted them, the local groundhog got some, neighbors took a few.. but after a while there were just way too many. I put them at the street with a sign that says take what you want.. no one took any :-(

Thanks for the support!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 241 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

We’ll see @trufflepig. We’ll see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75