Monochromatic Macro Of A Push PinsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

This Macro Monochromatic Photograph ..

Exhibits an interesting perspective on light and shadow and how it interacts with plastic and metal. This is also my entry into the Shadow Contest - Round 101 - Pointy Shadows run by @melinda010100. I was just introduced to this cool contest by @brittandjosie . She said one of my photos would be perfect for the contest. I had never heard of it before and am very excited that she was so kind as to mention it :-) Thanks @brittandjosie! So I decided to enter one of my 'Pointy Shadow' pictures.

'Point of Perspective' - by B D Miller

IMG_1507E2 (2).jpg

This Photograph of a Push Pin ..

Was taken with my Canon Rebel T1i at the following settings;
Capture.PNG
I had some good light heading in the windows, so I gathered a few miscellaneous items and started to shoot them. I changed the angles or positions to the light source and manipulated the camera settings, until I had the shots I wanted. This was just for fun and macro practice. Although maybe I should throw a few of them on a site like shutterstock. Any of you photo geeks out there have any recommendations?? advise?? I shoot in raw as well.

Here Are A Few Additional Shots ..

From this same photo shooting session. The depth of field as well as other variables we manipulated. You may pick up on the subtle differences as you browse through them..

IMG_1506.JPG

IMG_1507.JPG

IMG_1508.JPG

IMG_1509.JPG

IMG_1509a.jpg

IMG_1510.JPG

IMG_1511.JPG

Those are my selections ..

To share for the push pins, but I have lots of other cool shots of other types of items. I will save them to share on another post. But to just wet your whistle, I will share one other then make you sit and wonder a bit about what I else I was shooting.. Can you figure out what this item is?? Give it a shot! I will only include it's SHADOW in honor of the contest that I am entering.

IMG_1540 (2).JPG

Have a great rest of your day or evening!!

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

~ B D Miller

.................................

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

Sort:  

How you can make something as common as a push pin be so artistic is amazing to me. :)

Now your just trying to make my head get big like a balloon and burst, aren't you? I decided to emit my OCD move from the post. I originally shot the heck out of that pin and ended up deleting about 20 or so pictures. I deleted them because of the casting mark or mold line fell; it was not horizontal and my eye went right to it. I couldn't stop thinking about it, so i deleted them and re photographed it. I'm getting better. If you looked at my desk at work, you'd wonder what I am talking about.. its a danger zone :-/

Thanks !!!!!!!!!!!

Congratulations. Today's #monomad second place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Oh How Cool! I'll Swing over and check it out :-D
Thank you, thank you!

What a great post with a wonderful Shadow point! Lovely photography. Your entry is perfect for this week and I am so glad Britt told you about it. Thanks for entering!

Thank you for the kind words😊 I am too! Look forward to seeing more. ☺️

Ohhhh dear lord @melinda010100 me and my big mouth now we have another great shadower on our hands please @bdmillergallery can you do not so good ...😂😂😂 really great macros really nice and the second picture might be a golf club or a putter
Have a great day and let the furrys for me 😉

No, @brittandjosie , I think the second image must be a safety pin! You need to brush us on your shadow recognition! 🤣🤣

But it broke his neck 😂😂😂 @bdmillergallery and I shared dog pictures this morning and the shadow in that picture was good do I tipped, but LITTLE did I know he is a shadow master , even gave us a shadow puzzle aswell oohhhhhh he is good, well guess spreading the word is most important 😉 glad he entered offcourse I am kidding

Your competition is greater now! I wish you luck at winning the Shadow Contest this week!
!BEER
!DERANGED

Are you sure your kidding? 🤨
😉 hehe. I’ll withdrawal my entry! Lol. Broken neck made me laugh. Good eye.


Hey @brittandjosie, here is a little bit of BEER from @melinda010100 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

deranged You just received DERANGED @brittandjosie Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

😆 haha definitely. I knew you, being the shadow guru, would figure it out rather quickly. 🙃

🥺
😂🤣😂
Gold club or putter?! That’s it!!! Not. Lol.
Have a great Sunday as well. The furrys say hi!!

deranged You just received DERANGED @bdmillergallery Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44