Letting them Grow Up - Building Powerful Kids #5

in #powerfulkids7 years ago

IMG_2467.JPG

I have really enjoyed this new tag of #powerfulkids - If you have been enjoying them would love to encourage you to use the tag. As parents we all have wins and losses and can benefit greatly from others experiences.


Today I want to talk about the importance of helping your kids find and define their wins. As they are growing up, their experiences are building on each other all the time. Their brains are developing their worldview, their understanding of themselves and those around them - as parents its critical to help them build a perspective thats powerful and not ninniish....

images.jpeg

One of the things thats been incredible for my kids is helping them define their wins, and pursue them. When my kids have the challenge clearly defined in front of them, they are not having to look to their peers in comparison for their wins, but to their parents who (at the elementary age) can be their biggest celebrator and encourager.

Our context for this the last few weeks has been school getting kicked off!

IMG_2478.JPG

IMG_2495.JPG

IMG_2532.JPG

IMG_3006.JPG

I had no idea how big a deal this was until my wife started building tradition out of it...pictures, back to school shopping, new lunch boxes, etc...its become really quite a spectical - which I have grown to love...but really my kids have grown to love.

It's created not only excitement for my kids, but created a question for them - Whats it going to be like? Who's going to be there? What am I supposed to do? Even for my three year old, who is going two mornings a week to preschool.

IMG_3005.JPG

In this excitement leading up to school, it's created space for us to have heart connects with our kids, helping them define wins of what school will be like. For my 5 year old its been Im going to make new friends and learn to read. For my 3 year old its that I have to 'poop on the potty' to get to be in school. For the older two its been around; I get to be a great friend, I get to include myself when kids are jerks and include people that may not always get included.

Now, obviously new wins will develop as life goes on, but all 4 of my kids have run into school with excitement, feeling empowered this last two weeks as they have had clearly defined wins (that are age appropriate) that my wife and I can help them engage in and celebrate them like crazy as they are accomplishing them.

Again, this sounds amazing, but there are hiccups along the way and fails. Clearly defined wins help our kids share their hearts with us when its hard and helps them live powerful lives.

*This highlighted by my three year olds first day of school - all I could get out of him was snack was awesome and that he pee'd in the bathroom by himself....the glorious wins...

Help your kiddos find their wins, celebrate them, empower them and help them develop a powerful sense of self.

IMG_3008.JPG

IMG_2524.JPG

IMG_2484.JPG

IMG_2481.JPG

Live big today, dominate life and as always thanks for following

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @breakthrough to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breakthrough from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59