OF GOLD & SILVER, BITCOIN & STEEM - The 10,000th Post From @papa-pepper

in #potential8 years ago

If Bitcoin was to be represented by a precious metal, Gold would be the obvious choice.

Gold is the most familiar of the valuable precious metals, and has long been at work making a name for itself. Once, back in 2011, Gold was even worth almost $2000 USD per Troy Ounce. These days, Gold is just over $1100 USD for value. When we consider the recent increase in value of Bitcoin, when it jumped to over $1000 USD in value, we can see how remarkably comparable to Gold this crypto-currency really is.

At the moment, BTC was dropped down to around $900 USD in value, which is still incredibly good.

For all the benefits of having some physical Gold on hand, I’ve never bothered to acquire any, though I certainly do value using precious metals as an excellent way to diversify my assets. I, for one, believe that the price of Gold is most likely over-inflated, and that eventually the price will drop. Even if it doesn’t, it doesn’t seem to have a lot of “wiggle room.” Gold would have a pretty hard time doubling in value, in my opinion.

It is for these reasons that I use Gold as a representation of Bitcoin. Both used to be worth more, but their prices have dropped back at the moment. Though both are very valuable, they may have both reached their full potential, and not have a whole lot of room for growth left. The biggest opportunity for a significant increase in value for either of these is the possibility of the failure of the US Dollar. Without that actually occurring, I don’t think we will see a whole lot of growth potential from Gold or Bitcoin.


I am no expert, and have been and still can be wrong, but these are my thoughts on the matter at the moment.

Now Silver is a precious metal that I have more faith in. Silver has many more uses than Gold, and the value makes it a little more realistic to use in a time of crisis or in a bartering situation. The highest value that Silver ever reached was around $50 USD, and it is currently worth just under $17 USD. Like STEEM compared to Bitcoin, Silver has a significantly lower value than Gold.


However, I believe that both Silver and STEEM have incredible room for potential growth.

Silver, since it is used in the medical field and in electronics, has a leg up on Gold, which is primarily used for hording or jewelry. The lower value of Silver also makes it easier for more people to use it as an investment opportunity. Though Bitcoin is extremely divisible and it is very easy to own a tiny fraction of it, such is a little more difficult with physical Gold.

As a long-term investment, I’ll pick Silver over Gold every time. Likewise, STEEM is the better long-term investment in my opinion.

I think it would be very difficult to purchase $10 USD worth of Bitcoin right now and have it eventually be worth $20. The same thing goes for Gold.


However, Silver could easily double in value, and so could STEEM.

In fact, I think that we will see an incredible rise in the value of STEEM as steemit continues to develop and progress. I’ve never sold any STEEM yet, and I do not intend to any time in the near future.

Also, if I did want to sell any STEEM, I wouldn’t be doing it at the current prices, unless it was a survival situation and I had already ran out of wild edibles.

Thanks for everyone for following and commenting, these 10,000 posts have been a lot of fun, and time well invested!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-9999-posts-before-this-one


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

PP, Watch the interview that Greg Hunter had with Clif High. It brings new meaning to your quote "As a long-term investment, I’ll pick Silver over Gold every time." Even though he seems to pick silver for the precious metal he picks Bitcoin for the ecoin. You will find this interview very interesting. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@gamgam/greg-hunter-interviews-clif-high-don-t-miss-this

Just finished watching this interview! Very interesting and recommended!

Good to hear from you @gam-gam, and thanks for the link!

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! that's so awesome!!! :)
10,000 woo hooooo - party time! break out the goat riding! ;)

Congrats on the 10k, I think your right there is a huge potential of growth here in Steem.

I certainly hope so, and thanks!

Congrats @papa-pepper - you are a literal blogging machine and I don't know how you do it!

Physical should prevail over virtual but I think we both know that this is not how things are not going to pan out.

Yeah, I can still use physical in a power outage, but I know what you mean!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 07 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

A great post for your 10000. I agree with buying silver. Anyone new to precious metal and don't have much money to spend. Start buying old silver coins, all so called Junk Coins. If your new to crypocurrances and are in the same situation. Start with Steem. Their practically giving them away😊

Yeah, no buying or mining required with STEEM, just get an account, blog and vote!

I share your expectations on this :)

We are not alone!

All those gold coins look very pretty!

Most of them are silver.... But still pretty!

Lol - must be the F.lux app on my computer making them look more golden:)

Poor lighting affects it too... Yellows everything... Sometimes I look more like a Simpson.

I wrote a piece on the au/ag ratio a few months ago. We're still in the 70ish territory, which means buy silver rather than gold. Same for Steem? Well, totally different fundamentals, but the potential volatility of Steem sure is favorable. Then there's ETH. :)

Right! - I like STEEM and TRAIL, because there is no purchase required and *no mining necessary, just post and curate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84