STEEMIT TIPS- What is a post reward worth in USD?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #postrewards7 years ago (edited)

So, I've been curious for a bit how the math of a post reward works out. My central question- For every dollar that is shown in a post reward how much is it worth in USD right meow?

So, I'm going to use this post as my example. It's a Meme the News Post from 1 week ago.

rewards.jpg

As you can see the post earned 8.25.

What actually got deposited in my account was-rewards2.jpg

So, that's 3.134 SBD and 2.558 steem power (1 steem is 1 steem power).

So, now let's go to Poloniex to see what those are worth. We gotta start off by knowing how much USD a bitcoin is worth.
Btc Poloniex.jpg

Looks like it's a whopping $2139 USD!!!

Next up have to figure out how many Steem make up 1 BTC.steem poloniex.jpg

So, 1 steem is worth .00052385 btc. So, 0.00052385 X $2139 is $1.12 USD/Steem! Since I earned 2.558 steem power then the total that came from that is $2.86.

OK, now for the SBD.sbd poloniex.jpg

Looks like each SBD is worth 0.00087854 btc. So, that means 1 steem is worth $1.88 USD. Since I earned 3.134 SBD then the total amount earned from SBD was $5.89 USD.

That brings my total to $5.89 +2.86= $8.75 USD!

That's 6% higher than what the post reward shows (since it's in steem currency).

Rule of thumb

If you need a quick method to figure out how much a post is worth in USD simply multiply the value shown as the post rewards by 1.06 and that's how much it's currently worth in USD. These numbers change frequently, but for now that's a pretty good measure.






Sort:  

Great post! Hehe I love it when you transfer it to Poloniex and it goes up hehe

Hey! I'm honored to have you in my comments section! Thanks for visiting. Here have some tea!

Very nice, was looking for something like this!. But what kind of tea would you suggest?

Love it!! :-D

Great post and I love your style of presenting it and connecting the dots to make it easy for anyone to understand.

Thanks, very interessting :)

Thanks!!! You are always posting helpful info. I have learned a lot from your posts. Keep them coming. I always vote and resteem!

Great write up! Stoked to see. Luckily I dont even look at the USD prices. All We care about is BTC to Steem and SBD!

For Best Results: Re Steem,Follow,Upvote and Comment!

Fairly new to Steemit, I loaded and auto curator as recommended in Steemit Tolls.....at present that shows I have 4.02 SBD pending and I notice my voting power has declined increasingly in proportion to 30.7%. So I am not clear as to the purpose / whether SBD is necessarily a reward. Should I shut my Steemit off for a few days to regain voting power? Thanks!

Just voting will nilly wont do much for you. Vote on what you like, resteem what you like. SBD is a stable token you keep. STeem power is locked up for two years as an investment into the company. SBD can be traded for steem in than in a process called powering up used for your curation. I will make a video later explains all this ok! Follow me if you would like, Ill post this evening.

You have a new follower! Thanks again for helping to educate those of us new to the Steemit community - I will support your efforts happily

@lanceman Thank you brother. WE really appreciate the feedback. If you ever have any questions we will do our best to help answer them as well. Often we dont know, but we love digging with out paws to find out more!

Voting power is based on 200 votes a week (I think. I might be 40/day which would make it 280). Each time you vote your voting power goes down. Voting power will directly impact post rewards. If you have low steem power and low vote power and upvote a post that makes a ton you won't really earn anything. If you have high steem power when you vote you'll grant that person a large reward and still earn some back, but not if your voting power is spent. If you have less than 2000SP I'm not entirely sure it matters much because we're still talking pennies on average.

Also, @thearcanebear it no longer takes 2 years to get out. I think it's set to 13 weeks now, but it's roughly 3 months.

As for where to vote.. vote wherever you like. It's your page and your account. As for voting on things to make money I would suggest for short term thinking limit your votes to posts you think will earn high rewards so you get a bigger piece of them back. For long term solutions I would suggest voting on posts and comments that you like and who you want to support and in turn be supported by. Those votes can help build relationships especially if you're interacting with people with few followers and/or steem.

thank you.. that is much helping...

@aggroed well thats great, gonna have to re do some research first before I a video! So glad to hear it only takes 13 weeks now. thats pretty amazing!

how do we know our steem power already fnish

You have a new follower! Thanks again

Sure bud! Glad it helped.

Another new follower! Thank you Sir

:) someone needs to develop a calculator to be installed in the wallet...

Weird question -- where do we report tech issues. I noticed the other day but my computer is lagging. This person wrote it up. We aren't see notifications.

https://steemit.com/steem/@omrusman/steemit-notification-are-not-working-why#comments

Steemit chat --> #dev. That's my best bet. Maybe #witness.

That's so much fun that you figured that out! I was actually thinking it would be a bit less, so you proved me wrong there :D

Dude this help me out, i was thinking the same thing i just joined few days ago, loving it so far. Thank you!

I love it when it's more than you thought. More Steem, more cowbell

Thank you very much, i'm new to this site and i'm recomending to others and this will help me to understand too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25