How the Hard Truth Changed My Perspective

In light of the Project Positivity Challenge #4 I have decided to share my personal story on how I re-thought my situation at the time by hearing the hard truth and words of wisdom.


This was about 3years ago, and I was just entering my junior classes in engineering. I had been off and on with school for many years and was losing my drive. The classes were getting difficult and requiring a ton of my free time, in which I started giving less and less attention to.

It was mid-semester in a class that I started out with an A and had sunk down to a high C after doing horrible on the Mid-term. It was becoming depressing, I was feeling lost and started second guessing my decisions to finish. I became more focused on enjoying life, going out with friends and drinking a lot. Not to mention the countless drugs that got passed around. I started on that path of becoming a failure.

Basically I was digging a hole and I really didn't care. 

Then on a Friday, I went to one of my professor’s office to turn in my lab report that was now a few days late but still worth some credit. I had also skipped his class that week so the last thing I wanted was him to notice me, in fact I just wanted to toss it into his bin on the outside of the door and be gone. But with my luck, his door was open and he was sitting at his desk.

As I approached, he noticed me right away and told me to come in. I told him I was turning in my lab this week even though I realized it was late. He took my report and tossed it in a folder and then told me to take a seat because he wanted to have a talk with me.

As I sat down he looked at me and said some of the most powerful hard hitting words I have ever been told.

"I know you’re Intelligent... I had huge expectations of you when you first showed up to my class. I don't know what has happened with you, but something is up."

As I went to speak and give him a bull-shit story he held up his hand and told me just to listen.

"Like I said, I can see good things coming from you. But as it now, all I can see is that you’re wasting your life..."

He paused and then with complete sincerity told me the piece of advice that I will never forget.

"Please, don't waste your mind. It's a precious thing not everyone has the luxury of having."


I was completely shocked. Never have I had a professor that seemingly cared so much about me or my future. He then told me I could go, have a great weekend, and that he expected me in class next week. To say the least, I didn't skip his class anymore and finished with a high B.

This was something that changed my outlook nearly instantly. I changed my whole perspective on class and more importantly my life. It also made me think of how this related to other aspects of my life, and how I have decided to stop wasting it by becoming more open minded. In a sense, be what you can be. Try new things, and most of all, Be Curious!

Nothing seems to come easy, but with dedication and sacrifice, you gain the ability to reach out and take what you want.


Thank you reading. Comments are always welcomed.

Please consider following me @generation.easy


Image Credit:

 Morgan McKinley Singapore 

 PictureQuotes.com 

Sort:  

This spoke volumes to me - awesomely done. Really. I always love reading personal stories because they emit such depth of character. And I can relate. Amidst my shocking downspiral my college lecturer said something similar to me. I didn't work. But I've never forgot it. And I use it now and again when I need that oomph!

I really hope this post makes you some well earned dough :) You deserve it!

Thanks for the comment and repost! I have a feeling many can relate, the reason why I wrote it. i just remember it giving me shivers when he said it. Was good advice for sure, and i'm glad he said it.

Hi, @generation.easy, Thanks for sharing your story.

It is quite remarkable to me how positive feedback from even a single individual can have such a dramatic effect on the course of a person's life... ;)

Truthfully, I think he was giving negative feedback in a way that really hit home to me. It was like I was feeling exactly what he was saying, if that makes sense. But in the end, it was positive reassurance that "I could do it" that helped change my way of thought, if that makes sense.
Thank you for the comment!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12