My thoughts on the ideas behind the 50/50 split and a suggestion.

in #positive5 years ago (edited)

BFF02A4A-2C5F-486E-AFA4-4A81257D1A03.jpeg
Source

Hi
I think most of you know we are changing to a 50/50 split on post rewards between authors and curators. I understand the purpose is to provide a financial incentive to change people’s behavior away from making lots of posts, of possibly low quality and self upvoting them to a different behavior; that of reading or consuming other people’s content and upvoting that content to earn rewards.

I am always a fan of positive incentives versus negative ones.

I think I also understand the “math thinking” here, which is paradoxical. The change reduces author rewards and increase curation rewards, to increase the number of upvotes to authors, thus ultimately increase the total author rewards through increase upvotes.

It’s a sound business strategy to increase profits by decreasing price and increasing the number of units sold. Whether this simple concept will work in our economy with other variables has been debated and the decision has been made, so let’s all hope and/or pray for the success of the change.

Now for my suggestion.

One of the changes also being proposed is adding voting power to each user to use exclusively for downvotes. I think the motivation is to downvote low quality content without the negative incentive of using your voting power on actions that don’t generate money. So the new downvote pool allows you to downvote what you feel is low quality content for free.

What I wish to suggest today, is that instead of creating the 20% voting pool for downvoting posts, we should use that pool as a reward pool for manual curators.

I suggest that the downvote pool could be changed from a negative incentive pool to a positive incentive pool by using it to reward manual creation by platform users by writing into the software code the ability to distinguish between Bots and people by name or other clear characteristics. This would give people a small increase in curation for being people and also encourage engagement.

I think this suggestion to provide a small additional reward pool to reward manual curation is more consistent with the theme and overall objectives of the 50/50 change, which is positive incentives. I think this would stimulate manual curation, stimulate engagement and it’s a relative small investment to potentially help offset the loss of author rewards to smaller account holders in the short term.

I also think it’s better then a change, whose theme or purpose is negative incentives. Negative incentives tend to have negative outcomes, despite their positive intentions.

I am reminded of 18th century England, where the crime of pickpocketing became such a prevalent crime that the government made the penalty for pickpocketing public hanging. Paradoxically pickpocketing increased as the criminals came to the large crowds at the hangings to do more pickpocketing.

I fear that this downvote pool will incentivize flag wars or other complex schemes to create alliances to pool downvotes for financial gain, sort of a real Drug Wars game scenario.

Let’s keep it positive here because positive incentives are the best way to change behavior in my opinion. I think that if we make the behavior and choices we want to see the most profitable choices, we will see more of it.

Let’s start a discussion.

Thoughts?
@shortsegments

Sort:  

I understand the rationale behind 50/50, but I worry about smaller author awards, but I guess if I get a higher number of smaller awards it will be okay. Thanks for explaining it. By the way I agree that the downvote idea is negative and that’s not what we want our theme to be here on Steemit. We are smart enough to figure out how to incentivize desirable behavior with incentives. All negative incentives we want to use on so called bad guys, can also be used on so called good guys. The people on the platform aren’t always nice, but the majority aren’t dumb, so I expect bad people to use this downvote system for bad things. But I hope I am wrong.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The downvote system we have as of now from STEEM developers that's seems to be ok. This thing is as necessary as required to keep platform clean and want to reach next goal through right way in a bright future.

Posted using Partiko Android

i think if the hf makes it better to hold SP, then the HF is good. I think one big problem is, holding Steem has only a little benefit.

If it makes more sense to hold steem, the price should increse and the voting power "$$$" should increase too.

I think the Downvote pool can be really bad, or nothing big happens. But i dont see a real benefit.

Because some content is not really popular, but gets a lot of attention.

So imo this content is something worth too.

I think add Like/ Dislike to the Steem Blockchain and rename "Upvote "to "Support/Donation" can fix the problem too.

Like always nice article @shortsegments

Best regards

@freddio

Hi Freddio
I understand that holding cryptocurrency doesn’t usually generate any income, but you should consider delegation as one way to earn while holding.

I agree that the downvote pool could be very bad or it may turn out that it will hardly be used at all. I hope for the second choice.

I think your suggestion of name changes to one’s more common in the world due to Facebook has merit and I wonder what forum we can go to suggest these ideas. I also like the idea of the support button, accessible only to humans to provide some bonu reward from human consumers of content.

Thank you for the ideas and for stimulating discussion.

Take Care,
Shortsegments 🚂

I think your idea is to change upvote to like and downvote to dislike is good. I think that support is a good name for the button we press for manual curation so only humans could use it! This is perfect for the manual curation pool shortsegments was writing about.

This is great! We are already engaging and adding onto each other’s ideas to find better solutions. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow amazing articl and pic thats great man

I am on a positive mindset about this changes and will see after the effect!

Posted using Partiko Android

I like your suggestion.
If only some suggestion can be considered of

Me too, I hope other people suggest it also.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I never like negative thoughts and person think positive and done positive for success and happiness.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84