You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing with Our Negative Feelings, Emotions and Judgments: How to do it Better!

in #positive6 years ago (edited)

Yes, I have heard that one can save a lot of energy (which then can be put to better use in accomplishing one's aim) by simply NOT GIVING EXPRESSION TO NEGATIVE EMOTIONS (even though one is feeling them). Simply observe them, acknowledge them but don't express them.

Am I on the right track?

Sort:  

True, just don´t react to negativity and try to not give as much attention to it.

I’ve certainly experienced this! I think every once in a while they need to be released, but to reinforce them on a daily basis is totally detrimental. I’ve felt so much better since I decided to stop shot talking with a certain friend who is always complaining.

Whether it's the "right" track or not, you're on a very similar track to how I look at it. My experience has been that whereas "negative" emotions are definitely real and authentic, they are often based on missing information and misinterpretation of something.

We reactively get angry at someone or something, but if we just take a moment to "sit with" that anger and observe the underlying "why," we often discover something about ourselves... and the person/thing who would have been the recipient of our anger is largely innocent. One of my spiritual teachers of long ago used to call it "reacting to a memory," (rather than the present moment).

I prefer not to give expression to a lot of negative stuff simply because... what does it resolve?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43