Why I am still here on Steem

in #posh4 years ago (edited)


Over the past 2 days, I've attended blockchain events here in Malaysia purely to support other community builders in the Blockchain Space. One of the hottest topics that was asked was the state of the STEEM Blockchain obviously.

Also, someone asked me if I was still going to be talking about STEEM and running events to talk about STEEM blockchain which I've been doing over the past few years.

My answer was that even though there are numerous disputes happening at this point in time, however, you can clearly see how strong and vocal the community is. This is something that I do not see in other blockchain projects.

Since 2017 when I first joined STEEM, there were so few options on how to post to the Steem blockchain, not only that, it was really hard to even get your account created. Even with that, I still managed to run my first event talking about STEEM and a lot of people were interested however only a few managed to get their accounts and continued their journey together with me as **Teammalaysia** community here.

This was my first ever meetup which I did here in Malaysia .. i remembered I did a demo post during my presentation https://steemit.com/steemit/@bitrocker2020/welcoming-new-steemians-from-malaysia

___

Realizing that STEEM is not just a "blogging" platform, however, that it would only be successful if its a community. Therefore that's why this fueled my drive to grow this into something larger. So I began speaking about STEEM wherever I went ...

8e0bfe7f-7623-45db-b404-5259cc47c268.jpeg

And as it started to gain traction, the community just grew and grew and I made many many friends during my journey.

Most of my talks were at a diverse crowd of tech and non-tech. I've even talked about steem at women entrepreneurs event and also numerous blockchain events

Image result for bitrocker2020 women on web

I also did talk about steem to musicians and artists asking them to come on board and share their artistry here within the community.

6d9219ee-aa39-41ad-a1db-83bf2d738450.jpeg

One of my highlights was organizing Borneo Blockchain Summit where we got huge support from the community to run it as we had key government officials to come and attend and actually listen about what Blockchain technology and of course about STEEM as well. The event was a success with 250 attendees !

Image result for borneo blockchain summit

___

Image result for bitrocker2020 talk

SO Why Am I Still Here ?

I am still here is because I just love this community and steem has been beneficial for everyone not in a sense of only earning some crypto, however also a way to share something, be it a thought, an activity or even something as simple as your kid's drawing or your cooking. Its a space that gives us the freedom to be ourselves.

Image result for bitrocker2020 talk

I remember sharing about my burned pizza on steem once as my kid got pretty sad cuz he so wanted to eat pizza

Here was one of the comment which came after I posted it

Apart from just seeing how the community evolved into something larger than just **Teammalaysia** . You start seeing a lot of involvement with other communities, where individuals would start making friends with other content creators regardless of race or religion. Heck .. we became friends without even knowing our first names.

So I guess I'm here to stay and not moving anywhere ... all this fiasco about TRON and STEEM, I hope that there is progress to resolve and move on positively as the community is watching and is reacting.

image.png

I hope the newly signed up individuals from whichever community are also able to experience steem as how we have so that we would be able to grow as a community to make it even larger than just a blockchain.

Lets STEEM On !



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://steemitup.club/why-i-am-still-here-on-steem/
Sort:  

You're the boss !tip !shop

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @bitrocker2020! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @davidke20!

@davidke20 wrote lately about: Not A Tasteem Post - Sushi Zanmai Feel free to follow @davidke20 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you for your support. Here's a !shop as token of appreciation.

I agree that we have to look beyond what's happening right now. I have the sense that somehow, the community, Steem and Steemit will survive. Steemit Inc? Well that's another matter. Thanks for all you do for Steem.

Thanks for being our Malaysia Witness. #supportalways


This project is being supported by @Fundition the next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program
Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper
work_on_progess.gif

steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png
Join a community with heart based giving at its core
Fundition is a non profit project, by supporting it with delegation you are supporting 200+ projects.
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

Hi @bitrocker2020!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.936 which ranks you at #226 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 21 places in the last three days (old rank 205).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 86 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68