Motorcycle spotting in PortugalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #portugal7 years ago (edited)

Motorcycles are evocative, often misunderstood things that both serve as a simple, cost-effective means of transport and an outlet.

Different people see very different things when they look at a motorcycle; transport, exhiliration, traffic-beater, freedom, lawlessness, danger?

I personally think that if you are going to have any chance of truly 'experiencing' the trip, it should be made on a motorcycle. Sure cars are safer, more cofortable etc. but it is the exposure that makes the trip interesting.

Cars are like an abstraction, things happen 'around' you, on a motorcycle things happen to you. The wind hits you, your helmet, arms chest are all affected by it.
Every scent in the air makes it's way to your nose, no filtering, so you experience much more in the way of your environment.

On a motorcycle you are more aware, you have to be. You have skin in the game.

Different cultures treat motorcycles differently too. Some people express themselves in the customisation of their motorcycles and accessories.

Enough waxing lyrical, here are some of the interesting motorcycles I have taken photo's of as I see them.

Yamaha Something

Initially I thought this was a FJ 1200, on account of the wheels and the square section chassis. But that was never a twin shock, so I am perplexed. The tank looks like it was lifted off of a FJ 1200.

Either way it's a neat cafe racer look!

Yamaha XSR 700

I do prefer the older bikes, but this caught my eye and I thought it might have been a custom, till I got closer.

Nice looking twin available like this from the factory.

Looking at the Yamaha Portugal site there is also a yellow version with graphics that are reminiscent of Kenny Roberts' flat track days.

If I were buying that would be my pick!

KTM Duke 125

I have seen a few like these, in South Africa 125cc motorcycles are considered as bikes teenagers ride.

Here in Portugal it is quiet different and I have seen many a grown man (and woman) riding piddly 50cc bikes.

The Duke has a really good look to it as well, appearing as a much larger capacity bike.

Yamaha Classic / SR remake?

I had a similar model to this many years ago, called the SR 500.

Loved that bike, used it for quite some time commuting to work and back.

Back when men were men and electric starts were nowhere to be seen.

It feels macho kick-starting a motorcycle right up until your single cylinder flames out as the traffic light goes green, with a long line of cars behind you 😫

Interesting thing, this looks to have been manufactured in Spain!

I did not know that Yamaha had a factory / assembly plant in Spain?

Triumph Bonneville


Not an exceedingly rare bike, just liked the look of it.

In my mind Triumph did an amazing jon of keeping the classical styling on this as well as the Thruxton models.

I prefer the Thruxton though, it looks that bit more sporty.

Vanguard - what?


From the not so rare to the completely unknown.

One of the things I love about walking around here, and especially in Canedo where my mother in law lives, is seeing these ancient bikes in daily use.

It's a Vanguard and probably a 2-stroke, but thats about all I can make out about it.

Vanguard 500-S apparently. 500 does not denote the capacity though as this was quite a small bike.

Performance Vespa

You know what every Vespa needs? Welded up expansion pipes and a carbon fibre muffler.

Because Vespa...

Another Yamaha

No preference given to Yamaha's I just snap them as I spot them. If they stand still long enough 😛

This one is a police bike, Yamaha XJ 600 (probably?) with panniers and a full fairing.

Looks naff, naked is beter in Diversion's for sure.

Anyone ever read Charley Cooper?

If you have this will make sense.

Moer of a strong Guzzi

Bimota Something

Funky styling, 3 pipes, but meh. Moving on...

When I go clothes shopping I like to ...

Look at old KTM's, of course!!

Jokes aside, I think it's great that a retailer has no issue using a motorcycle as a prop for their displays.This was taken in Jumbo Maia some time back.

They also had an old Citroën on display with cheese (of all things!) last year some time.

Florett

No idea about this, but it was an absolutely beautifully maintained bike. Photo's just don't do it justice!

The hack's

For the most part the previous bikes were all pretty well maintained, that ends here.

Truly I am surprised these bikes are on the road, I am sure they would have been harrassed by the traffic police back in South Africa!

Ok I spoke to soon, this one is not so bas. Never seen a Sachs before living in Portugal!

A case of confusion here, is it a Zundapp? Is it a Famel? Is there even a motorcycle marque such as Famel?

It could so with a bt of TLC

I snapped this as I walked past right after we moved to Portugal. It's rough, rougher than the photo shows.

I had seen it a few times, standing forelorn hoping someone takes it away and treats it better...

Each time I saw the bike I wondered what kind of irresponsible youth had ownership of the poor thing, surely they could spare some change and sort out the seat, the tail light, something?

Then one day I saw the owner get on and ride away. She is a 'mature', not old, woman and put on her ill fitting helmet, that probably has no cushioning left after countless years of service.

Not at all what I expected!

And with that I leave you again, for a while anyway...

Follow me!

Sort:  

Nice photos :) I'd like to get my hands on a BMW - I hear they make good bikes :)

Yamaha the best :)

Cumprimentos pelo bom post.
Sugiro tradução para português pois a comunidade CPLP está acrescer no Steemit.

Muito obrigado, o meu português não é bom. Eu acho que as pessoas não gostariam se eu usar o google translate!

You are welcome to translate it and post under your account. I will resteem it.

Thanks for the comment.

Good photos of various kinds of motorcycles with interesting information! Thanks for sharing! ;)

wow, seems like they really like bikes! you don't find so many of them on the russian streets

Motorcycles are part of my life and a must have experience for anyone at least once in a lifetime.

Today I have a Tiger 800, an incredible motorcycle but unfortunately, I will have to sell it soon. My baby is coming next month and I need the money. Probably I will look for a​ small scooter just to commute to work until things get better.

Enough​ of my whimper. Love the post and the motorcycles, especially​ the Vanguard, what an​ odd bike.

Kids do have a way of reorganising your priorities.

I hope you do get a scooter at least, otherwise it is way to easy to forget the feeling of going for a ride, just because.

Good luck with the baby!

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

Great! ...took you a while to put all these pics together. Like that old KTM.

I have a soft spot for old bikes too, it seems they had so much more to look at and see.

Newer bikes cover it all up in plastic.

Thanks for popping by!

Great bike spotting! I'm living in Lisbon and might just start snapping some bike pics!

I also have the passion for motorcycles.......luv Yamaha............I upvote u so as u upvote me....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80