Portraiture, a way of expressing myself (Self-portrait series) II

in #portraitphotoraphy6 years ago (edited)

Portraiture, a way of expressing myself.

Today I'm sharing another self-portrait. This time a more recent one, taken a couple of days ago. If you haven't seen the first post where I explain my reasoning behind taking self portraits, and you feel like doing so you can click here and will take you right to it. :)

While I explained my reasons for taking self portraits in my earlier post, there is some kind "end-goal" attached to it as-well. See, I love portraits. I like looking at the thousands of different styles, the endless creative possibilities and the emotions you can capture in a single image for all eternity. While I have no ambitions to be a portrait photographer right at this moment in time, who knows what the future in-tales, right?

I use the art that is self portraiture as a medium to start my portfolio in a way, getting comfortable not only behind the lens, but also in-front of it, getting to know what models endure on a portrait shoot (on a much smaller scale of- course) I just love the work that goes into it. I also see self-portraiture as a metaphor for control. Every choice is mine: the position of the lights, the poses, the post production.. I prefer to be the one in control in every situation I find myself in, and taking self portraits gives me just that privilege.

While I see taking self-portraits as a stepping stone for learning poses and lighting setups right now, I eventually want to shoot traditional portraits of my friends or even models for that matter. Just to dip my toes in every disciple that photography as a visual medium has to offer, becoming an all-around, versatile photographer in the process.

Self-Portrait II

Topdown2.jpg

Don't hesitate to say whats on your mind! You can leave comments below for a reason :)

Like what you see? Every Upvote, follow and re-steem is greatly appreciated

You can also follow me on instagram: @Lennertndirkx

Sort:  

Strong photo, the eyes seem strained. If you relaxed them just a bit and maybe look a centimeter in the opposite direction, I think it would have made a more relaxed pose. What camera are you using?

Thanks for the feedback, will keep your tips in mind for my next shoot! I'm currently using my Nikon D5200 with my trusty 50mm f1.8 :)

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @jfolkmann from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Wonderful shot :) That would be very nice to draw ;)

Im only selfie level at these stuff. Hahaha ill stick to drawing portraits and not shooting

I love this! From the composition to the use of light & shadows!! Superb!!

Thank you so much! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78