Wise. Wrinkles. | ⏳ | "Tough years leave deep marks on your face" -A recovering alcoholic |

in #portraitphotography7 years ago (edited)

Wise. Wrinkles.


PSX_20180309_070742-01_wm.jpg


I was just waiting for the bus to arrive when I saw this man walking his dog. I let the bus go without me and decided to have a chat with him.
You probably won't tell from the picture that this man is just 50 years old. He told me a thing or two about being an alcoholic. This face tells the story all by itself. "Tough years leave tough marks," he said to me when pointing out his age not matching his looks. Luckily he was already clean for 5 years now! After a minute or 15, I jumped on the next bus in order to get home again.

Today I finished my first week in the surgery department.
Jeez, those surgeons have legs. Standing for 10 hours a day really did exhaust me to the bone! I learned to start running again, not to get fit and lose weight, but just for the sheer stamina, one needs in order to keep focused when operating on other human beings. This week did make me think back to the man shown above. I met him about a year ago, and that is when I took this shot. People come in all different forms and sizes, and this one definitely is engrained in my mind ever since.

.
Some close-ups for the people who won't bother to click the above image in order to view it in full resolution!
.


PSX_20180309_070742-01_wm-02_wm.jpg


Shot with a Canon fd 50mm @1.4 on my Sony A7II

PS. The story about the man may or may not be false, I let your imagination decide.


PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg


Thanks for your time, Feedback is always appreciated!

"Emotions are there to be expressed, not to be suppressed and bottled up. I do photography in order to take my mind away from the dilemma's I encounter during my medical internships."

💞🎥💞

To receive an notification whenever I start a LIVE editing broadcast:

>>Sign up for email notifications <<

thi-js. Out.

Up-vote, re-steem and follow

PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg

Sort:  

Amazing post and I love how you took the time to talk to this man.
I wouldn't have guessed his young age by his look but like you say a tuff life can do much to your body and soul. Love your story and you seem like a wonderful person. Happy weekend. Cheers!

Wow. That js quite the great compliment. Tha k you so much for those kind words, I am widely interested in all kind of human activities!


t.

My pleasure!
It was a joy to read and I can tell that you love people and really are genuine about wanting to know people.
I work with kids everyday and I love it, gives so much back 😊 happy weekend!

Incredible, it is true that the years stick even more when you do not have a good lifestyle. With all due respect the man looks much more than 70 years

I have to agree with you. Also what my thinking was!


t.

great post :) welldone :)
thanks for sharing with us :) @ thi-js

Thanks! I just like to write about what happens during my day :)


t.

yup dear i appreciate your posts :) you always share good stuff
kindly visit my blog and upvote my posts if you dont mind :) @thi-js

Kind of you, but I am not one of those people that wants to just do the follow fo follow like for like thing :) I will check you out some day :)


t.

okay thanks :)
BTW where do you live ?@thi-js

Amsterdam that is :D


t.

first time heard about this place @thi-js

Amsterdam is quite the historical city!

I recommend you check out the wikipedia page, it may ring some bells :)


t.

Incredible image and impactful story, the focus on your image is flawless thanks for sharing Thi-js !

My last post is about portraiture, hope you get a chance to check it out

Ofcourse I will, you have been with me quite some time already!


t.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 21:54:16
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1277.23/1600.00
Total Photos: 69
Total comments: 89
Total contest wins: 21
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That is very kind of you my dear! :)

What made you decide to do just that?


t.

I get you. Being in a medical profession means prolonged standing/walking, and that requires amounts of stamina I didn't know was needed.
BTW, great close-ups!

Thanks! Wanted to show more of the captured details!


t.

Nice portrait

Great shot with a nice background story. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87