You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photography Rules Are Meant To Be Broken #1 - Rule of Thirds

in #portraitphotography6 years ago (edited)

The rule of thirds is too simplistic and as this proves, not only can, but must be broken. A rule of more universal application (not just in art) is the Golden Mean. But one would simply choose the best composition by gut feeling, at least I do. It is a matter of having a 'good eye' rather than being weighted down by a bunch of rules. Of course one has to know the rules first in order to decide to break them - like the inane art teacher rules of grade school (color between the lines).
Check your "Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!" - it is a broken link. The proper URL would be this, for Full Screen - it works every time and I use it often. Going to the large size, I feel for your model: she must have been freezing her ass off in the drizzle rain, and looking closely, one can see her goosebumps.
Upvoted and resteemed

Sort:  

Yep, I'd agree fully with going by your gut... if it looks right, there's probably a good reason that it IS right. I've tried applying the golden mean into my photos, but I admit my eye likely isn't good enough to see the pattern in everyday things. I do see the benefit in rule of thirds in some landscape photos and other situations, but if you stick to it as a rule, things will quickly get boring and predictable.

Also, thanks for the heads-up about the link!! Oops :\

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68