Portrait Photography: Fun Shoot in Mandaluyong City!

Fun Shoot in Mandaluyong City!

DSCF4083DSCF4083.jpg

( This is a photo of a building in front of the hotel where my girlfriend and her cousin stayed, I believe this is the BDO tower. )

Hello guys, What's up? Good day to you all,

It is another day for us Steemians to create, curate and share content that we are very passionate about!

I am Raymund Bumagat and today, I am going to share you a photo series that I took for a fun shoot in Mandaluyong City.

What is a Fun Shoot?

Do you have any idea what a fun shoot is? Maybe some of you know it already and some may not.... yet.

It is a very common term especially to Portrait Photographers. This means, the model and the photographer will do a photo shoot for free.

Many newly Portrait Photographers are in for this since they need to practice, gain exposure, and build portfolio so they can show something that will attract future clients to book them. Same goes as well to the aspiring models out there.

Even photographers who already have portfolio are still offering Fun Shoot for their friends or even models that will help them gain more exposure.

In short, both parties should agree that there's no talent fees involved.

A Birthday Gift

Three weeks ago, my girlfriend said that she will go have an overnight stay-cation on a hotel around Mandaluyong. It is her cousin's birthday and she was invited to join their all girls mini party.

I already met her cousin last year. I still remember she asked if I can shoot her as well, since she really admired the photos of my girlfriend and she wanted to have nice pictures too. ( You already knew it, girls like to have good profile pictures, I don't have any issues with that, I can't complain, and they deserved it, everyone does ).

I can still remember I said yes, so here we go.

My Girlfriend sent me a text message if I can drop by tomorrow at the hotel before they check out for me to be able take pictures of her cousin and her friends as a birthday gift. Without thinking twice, I said yes.

The next day, I came to the hotel room where they are staying, I was actually late because of the traffic issues and guess what? they are all prepared just waiting for me to shoot them.

I immediately put my camera out of my bag, I used my 25mm f1.8 lens that is wide enough to take indoors and with decent bokeh for portraits.

Inside the Hotel Room

Here are some of the photos that I took inside the room
DSCF4065DSCF4065.jpg

( They literally don't know how to pose so I told them to smile. )

DSCF4071DSCF4071.jpg

( Since they are girls, I asked them to act like they are laughing and talking about something good, but it seems that some of them exagirated it hahaha lol! )

DSCF4077DSCF4077.jpg

( This is my girlfriend's cousin. She never had a shoot before so I guided her how to pose and where to look at. Luckily they have still wine left so I asked her to hold it to add some element. )

We already checked out

Her cousin said that we are all having a lunch and it is her treat and so we finally went out of the room, her cousin is processing the payment and my girlfriend and I go outside and I saw this:

DSCF4083DSCF4083.jpg

( Thumbnail! )

I decided to take a photo of my girlfriend's OOTD:

DSCF4088DSCF4088.jpg

DSCF4087DSCF4087.jpg

DSCF4089DSCF4089.jpg

And of course me! I deserve this.

DSCF4102DSCF4102.jpg

( I already used this as a thumbnail for my #introduceyourself post )

While we are waiting for our Lunch

Of course, my girlfriend showed the pictures to her friends so. . .

They also asked me to take them a picture of them for the sake of Instagram and DP in Facebook.

Here are they, I also taught them some posing style and so on since this is their 1st time:

DSCF4128DSCF4128.jpg

DSCF4130DSCF4130.jpg

HA HA HA HA! looks like they are prepared for this fun shoot and I really appreciate it.

Thank You!

So that's it for me today guys! I hope that you liked the photo series that I showed you, hope that you got an information about what fun shoot is, and maybe you can also use it to enhance and explore your skills in photography in a free way.

Remember, do not be afraid to do free shoots, it can always serve as your practice. Plus, if they liked the pictures that you took for them, surely next time they will ask for your rates or recommend you to others.

What's bad about shooting your friends, getting a free meal plus adding pictures to your portfolio right? Just have fun!

So! Hit that up-vote button, follow me if you haven't yet, and see you guys in the next posts!

rymndbmgt.png

Sort:  

Great shots! What f-stops did you use for the street portraits? Thanks.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 13:34:34
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 8.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81