Beautiful Ella Kay's Portrait in Seattle - Nikon D7000 (Friday #portraitphotography)

in #portraitphotography6 years ago (edited)

This picture of @ella-kay was taken in Seattle a couple of years ago with Nikon D7000 camera and Nikkor 18-200mm lens. This picture is not retouched.

Seattle is one of my favorite cities in the US. This picture was taken by the Four Seasons Hotel entrance in Downtown Seattle. Great spot to take beautiful photos! Aside from that Seattle has numerous spots for photography due to a combination of things. It has soft rolling hills, industrial areas, high-rise buildings (including the famous Space Needle), bridges, incredible greenery, and lots of water (ocean and lakes). All these features create an amazing opportunity to play with the light, colors, bokeh etc. while taking pictures.

I am not a professional photographer by any means, but I do get lucky sometimes. I am trying to improve my skills constantly, so if you have any suggestions for me please feel free to comment. You live and learn, right?

2018-01-11-20-19-33-986.jpg

Sort:  

Normally I wouldn't do this, but since you ask for feedback: I think all photographers need to learn how to edit pictures! For me photography exists of three steps: 1) clicking the button on your camera, 2) selecting the right pictures from your hard disk, and 3) editing those pictures into the end result. After those 3 steps it can be called 'a photograph' :-)

Your model (other half :D) is really beautiful! But I will show you the difference after some really basic editing (this takes me 30 seconds to do). Imagine what can be done with the original/raw picture :-) (Without the original file the air gets overexposed, but you get the idea :-))

EllaKay-.jpg

Thank you Rosanne!! This is exactly what I was looking for! I really appreciate the feedback and the work you did :) Would you suggest using a particular editing software? If you have any other suggestions please share!

You're welcome! Keep on trying and bettering yourself, asking feedback is a great start! One more thing I made add for this photo: try to keep limbs in the picture! In this picture maybe not both of them were possible, but the hand leaning on something would have been the one I would have tried to keep in the shot, even with some 'room' around it :-) Once you've focussed on keeping limbs in a shot for a while you'll never overlook it again! :D

As for software: I use Lightroom which covers all my needs! I'm never changing too much on pictures but always try to get the best out of it, which is what you will find easily done in Lightroom.

Enjoy and good luck!

Great advice, I really appreciate it! Will definitely take note! Thanks again :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 06:03:25
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.30/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02