Portrait Photography: Honoring Mama Pat


Camera: iPhone 6+
Photographer: @eaglespirit
Date: September 13, 2014
Location: The Blue Note, New York City
Model: Mama Pat

This is my first post and dedication to many of the Mamas I have had the privilege of having in my life. I say many because there were so many lovely souls that had a part in sharing in my growth. As I have previously mentioned in my blog entitled"Nana," my grandmother was one of these souls. Mama Pat was no less wonderful to me during my last years of living in New York City. Let me tell you about this beautiful woman.

Mama Pat was the type of person that took a person in, no questions asked. She cooked you a hot meal and invited you into her home, she loved life and never stopped dancing. This is not an easy blog to write as tears come to my eyes just thinking of the immense love she gave me. If you have ever met someone like this in your life, you are one of the lucky ones. I find myself so very lucky to have had a person like Mama Pat in my life.

The photo I took of Mama Pat was after a full night of New York City life. If you have never had one of these, then this is what happens. It's dress up and everything is glamorous. The outfit is "tight", the makeup is just right, the hair is done just so. The car for the night is either a limo or taxi. The drive into the City is always exciting and the energy is vibrating to an energetic beat. If you love a life full of excitement then this is the place for you. Dinner consists of a gourmet meal, and this night we ate at the Old Homestead Steak House, a common place for people like the Rat Pack.

After a meal in a historic or high-end spot, the next stop is entertainment for the night. That night we chose The Blue Note and had a great time. An average night is $500 and up in New York City. So prepare to spend money if you want a great time. I spent most of my life in New York City, and there were many nights like these and it was always a night to remember. This night was no less memorable.

The next stop is usually dancing, driving, or walking around the City. We may or may not strike up conversations with fellow New Yorker's or just hang out at a local establishment and laugh all night. I think we did stop off somewhere in Greenwich Village, which consisted of male dancers. It's all a blur. (If you know me, you know I am laughing a lot right now.)

But back to Mama Pat. She was always friendly to everyone and would strike up conversations with pretty much anyone she met. Maybe picking up a stray or a cigarette along the way. God help us! Overall we loved her more for who she was, and we never got enough of her loving spirit. Honestly, she was one of the kindest people I have ever met in my life. I was honored to know her.

I had lived in New York City by myself for many years, and my family always lived on the west coast. So this meant that for a large part of my life I was "alone." It was people like Mama Pat and her partner that took me in, and loved me. I was treated like family. I was invited to all family functions, meals, and urged to stay over as much as I wanted. My favorite meals were made and if they had food or money -- I had food and money. Yes, I have been very lucky in my life.

I left New York City three years ago, and Mama Pat passed away a few months ago. On the day Mama Pat went into the hospital for a routing procedure she called me to talk to me. I knew it was a goodbye, and I could not find it within myself to accept the phone call. People with high sensitivity can know when things will happen. Today, I feel a little sad I did not hear her voice and say goodbye, but reflecting on that moment -- something within me relied on my ability to speak to spirit for comfort.

You see at times, I am able to see or hear spirit. I was fortunate that Mama Pat came to me and we were able to speak. She was able to tell me she loved me and to say goodbye in spirit form. This may be a little crazy to some people, (and sometimes I feel my high sensitivity is crazy too) but that's okay since this is my Life experience, and I have learned to accept who I am. Mostly the acceptance of who I am is due to kind people like Mama Pat.

This blog is dedicated to my Mama Pat. How I love and miss you every day. May you be Blessed with Peace in the next phase of your souls existence. With so much love I send to you, from your girl @eaglespirit - Casandra.

If you have a similar story to share, or if this triggered something in you I would love to hear about it.

This is for a photo entry to #portraitphotography with @photocontests. Thank you @juliank for all your hard work and this opportunity!

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 03:56:17
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 91.71/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 20
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @eaglespirit to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you for sharing this with us. I'm a little choked up right now. Mama Pat sounds amazing. I was born and raised in New York and I can relate to your story. The Tight Dress, Hair and Makeup made me laugh a little

Thank you so much for your post. I loved it! Donation on the way. 🙏🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43