Portrait Contest Week 7: Music [Promo post]

in #portraitcontest7 years ago (edited)

Check it out guys!
My good buddy from back home, @jasonrussell, hosts a weekly portrait contest here on steemit. For week 7, he gave it a theme: MUSIC. Show him what you've got!


[Both of these were taken by either @jasonrussell or @melodyrussell in November 2009. -(Guys, I'm sorry I ruined the quality on these! I blame fakebook.)]

https://steemit.com/portraitcontest/@jasonrussell/steemit-music-portrait-photography-contest-week-7-starts-today-1st-2nd-and-3rd-place-sbd-prizes

^^^ That right there, takes you to his official post about the weekly contest. He teamed up with a brilliant musician and a wonderful lady @jessamynorchard to promote The Steemit Local Music Society on Discord.

Music and photography mean a hell of a lot to our little group of friends in Southern Missouri. I decided not to enter this contest but help them promote it, because 1) Jason and his wife, Melody, took all music related photos of me, so that's not very fair and 2) all the other pictures I have of meeting artists or during the show are crappy cellphone pics, probably from the middle of a most pit.

But to end this off, I'll leave you guys with a few of my favorite MUSIC PORTRAITS from my terrible cellphone, or taken of me on a terrible cellphone.


[I met Mushroomhead once. At least two of them stuck dirty hands in my mouth during their photos]


[This was me meeting one of my favorite musicians in the world, Laura Jane Grace of AGAINST ME!. We had a nice chat about my dead ex boyfriend. I cried and she offered me a beer. Instead I hugged her and then got this super grainy but definitely one of my favorite photos of all time. I've met her about 4 or five more times since this.]

So guys, give us your music portraits. Go check out the discord and give us your tunes.

Sort:  

Awesome write up @wednesdaymiller! I can read the text, but photos won't load right now. Can't wait to go back and see the one of you and Laura Jane Grace! I'm sure that was the experience of a lifetime!

Ahhhh! I used the same direct link from imgur as always. :(

It has nothing to do with your photos! Our internet service just decided to take a giant shit tonight ;) I'm sure it will load after the girls get off of their devices and go to bed. Any minute now.... lol.

Aaaah. Okay. I panicked. I have an album of Against Me! photos from that night. It was amazing because it was in CoMo. I think I've seen them 6 or 7 times. I'd have to actually think about all the shows to know for sure.

Cool post. Do you really play the bass though?

I used to. I did when this picture was taken. I haven't in about 7 years and my bass is stuck in Canada with my ex husband for the time being.

Hmm..hope you can get it back and get back to playing it 😀

That pic of you and Laura Jane Grace makes my heart so happy.

It was one of the best moments of my life. When she walked down the alley I started having a nervous breakdown even though I had just hung out with the 3 other guys in AM! And of course, Dylan had just left, so my roommate had to talk me into talking to her and the security guards kinda let her know what was up and I stood back until everyone else cleared out and I got to tell her about Kasey and we talked for probably 20 minutes. She is so sweet.
I think I've seen Against Me! seven times now. Something like that. We know each other by first names hahaha. She gave me free shit and Atom guestlisted me to Chicago after a disaster of a KC show once.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78