Portrait Contest Week 62: "Emotional Portraits" - Ejected and Dejected

in #portraitcontest5 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for Steemit Portrait Photography Contest Week 62


Ejected and Dejected



Ejected and Dejected_.jpg
Please click on the image to view full screen!


Categoryportraitcontest
Settings1/640 sec | f/2.8 | ISO 200 | 45mm
CameraOlympus OMD EM5 Mark 2
LensOlympus 45mm f/1.8 Prime
LocationCheddington Station, Buckinghamshire, UK

The idea is of a man suddenly made homeless with a few meagre possessions in a bag and a train ticket to who knows where. My friend Keith who has modelled for me many times did a great job of posing an expression to reflect this.

Here's another shot from the day.
Waiting.jpg
I considered using this shot for the contest but I feel Keith's expression on the chosen shot reflects the emotion of sadness and dejection a little better.

Website https://www.richeewilson.com/
Instagram

Sort:  

bouth photos are great. your friend did a great job and you did to. and really nice black and white.

Thanks, I think the cold grey day helps the mood too. Usually I don't like to go out on such days as they feel so uninspiring. Maybe it's a case of finding a subject that suits?

grey days are great for soft light but they are not for everything, here it looks great.
did you mix the background on the second shot? it looks like train is moving and standing? :)

The train is moving, I waited for it to solve the issue of a distracting background and I like the effect.

Hi There neighbour from across the See, I love this man its like he talking to me great shot
Gr britt

richee how is steemit life going and the blogging, not hitting a block just yet i hope?

A little bit maybe. I'm having a rest from photography and slowing down on Steemit until after the Christmas period. I'll see how I feel once the new year gets going, but I don't think I'll be posting as regularly as I was, but thanks for asking.

Great shots @richee
The expression in the first photo shows the situation perfectly, great model job!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @richee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87