My Entry for the Steemit Music Portrait Photography Contest

in #portraitcontest7 years ago (edited)

I recently took these shots of my friend Mark.

Mark is an incredible bass player.

He flew into Sydney for this gig.

PSX_20170731_002918.jpg

It was for a child protection charity that he has been a great supporter of for many years.

Mark has played and toured with a number of bands over the years.


Last year he quit his music to take on the responsibility of nursing his dying grandmother.

Her death from a dementing illness was a long and devastating process.

Mark mourned the loss of his beloved grandmother in many ways, before she finally passed away last week.

Mark has always vowed to be a voice for the most vulnerable.

He has already committed to his next endeavour.

After witnessing first hand the cruel and protracted death of his grandmother, he is campaigning for the right to voluntary euthanasia in Australia.

PSX_20170731_002849.jpg


I don't manage to get out much.

With a suspected leak still not located in my brain or spinal dura, any activity is at a cost.

PSX_20170528_183224.jpg

But I couldn't miss this fundraising event.


Here is the link to the portrait contest.

https://steemit.com/portraitcontest/@jasonrussell/steemit-music-portrait-photography-contest-week-7-starts-today-1st-2nd-and-3rd-place-sbd-prizes


I took the photos on my phone and processed them a little bit in photoshop express on my phone, then posted this from My Phone.

A small device allows me to practically type upside down. I need to be lying flat a lot to increase the pressure around my brain and decrease the pain and symptoms of low CSF pressure.

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

We should all be brave enough to speak for those that can't or are afraid to speak for themselves. Seems like an amazing guy!

He's a top guy. I'm lucky to have him call me sister. 💜

Cool pics! :-) Great to see ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05