One of my faves of all time - Portrait contest week 2 entry 2 - Original Content

in #portraitcontest7 years ago

Hey Steemians, I'm still on the Steem train and posting at least once a day, and it's starting to become more of an automatic function now which is great! Today I thought I wanted to post another entry to the portrait contest because I think it's a great idea and I want to support it, but I also just wanted to post this photo.

It was taken several years ago by myself and it is actually a portrait of my wife Sabrina. It's a double exposure obviously but what I really love about this photo is that it was taken on film, one of my favorite films, Kodak Ektar. I love Ektar because of it's punchy, vibrant color and crazy fine grain. In the world of low contrast, pastel toned, "omg i luuurves dem minty greens" Fuji pro 400h and Kodak Portra all stars, Ektar is a bit of a rebel. It's almost intentionally too contrasty, too saturated, too fine grain, almost like it's trying to be the opposite of all that is popular. I enjoy it for that, and I enjoy the colors and the contrast and the grain as well.

Anyhow, enough about some statement of whatever it is that I was trying to say, here's the photo!

000038130002.jpg

Unfortunately I don't have full info on this photo as it is a digital scan of a film negative, but basically all I am missing are the shutter speed times. The photo was taken with a Mamiya 645 AFD medium format camera and Mamiya 80mm f2.8 lens. Film was Kodak Ektar 100 and like I said I don't know the shutter speeds (plural, cause it was technically two shots ;) but the aperture was for sure wide open at f2.8. The photo was processed by (I think) Caribou Film Lab in Toronto and I believe would have been scanned on a Noritsu (If any of that matters to anyone potentially reading this post other than @marinauzelac)

Well that's it for my tag team, today's photo + portrait contest entry combo today folks. I hope you enjoyed this post, and if you did feel free to drop one of those wicked sweet up-votes on me, you know I always appreciate them! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to follow all our travels and see new original content every single day!

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

Wonderful shot!
Yes, Ektar is one of the best films I ever used, colors are indeed amazing, but it's goddamn expensive unfortunately too :(
There is one more film I love that i similar, Kodak Portra, have you tried it maybe?

Thanks @marinauzelac! I know it is freakin expensive, it's sad because it is really beautiful. I have tried Portra as well, but I like the contrast and vibrance of Ektar more. Mostly nowadays I shoot black and white film though because it is cheaper and I like to process it myself :)

Aaa, I'm so jealous, I still don't process it myself!
Keep it up, really love your work!

It's not too hard or expensive, most of the cost is in getting your developing tank and buying your initial batch of chemistry. I did all of my processing in my bathroom where it is dark hahaha. You should give it a shot one day, it's very rewarding :)

This is so beautiful. I love it so much!

Thank you so much @themessup, glad you like it!

Great portrait! I have to take my old canon ae-1 for a walk and capture some greats moments

Thank you @tropical-life! Canon ae-1 is such a classic, I've even got one and I'm not a canon shooter, hahaha.

Me too! all nikon set :D that canon i have with 50mm f/1.4 - It will be fun :))

Your pictures and words are stunning
I follow you now

Nice click
Love it

Thanks so much @khairulfajri, so glad you like it!

I like the way you did this , it's perfect.

Thanks so much @davidfar, glad you like it! I find double exposures quite difficult to do personally, which is why this is one of my favorites of all time. It's a double exposure that (I think) worked out quite well, plus it's on film :)

you are welcome my friend @dexter-k. Breaking the Rules , this is what I heard from genius people who became stars , you do it well , in art and photography we don't have to always do it in the same way. Thanks for sharing your works with us.

Beautiful photo! First I thought it was photoshoped but then I find out that you used film, that's even cooler! :)

Thanks @xxvjs glad you like it! You can still photoshop digital scans of film negatives but this was done all with the camera, no photoshop :)

Beautiful and romantic. Double exposure is a cool technique. Great portrait

They say if a photograph grabs the viewers attention for more than a couple of seconds you got a winner. You absolutely do! Keep 'm comming!

This post has received a 2.68 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dexter-k.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43