You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PopularScience: Topology - What is It? Balls, Bagels and Loops...

I always like to ask myself "so once I have tricked myself into thinking I have understood or learned something, what benefit do I get?"...I always get the same answer: "no benefit from being programmed to belief something". I'd rather stay free from beliefs and ideas and so stay mentally and physically free. To me, to 'under-stand' something is to stand under informational belief and be a slave to it. So I take no information seriously and only entertain it for fun.

Sort:  

you don't need to believe in gravity to obey it.

If I don't believe in gravity then obeying its 'laws' doesn't come into my mind. My mind does not exist anywhere in particular, it is not real, only experience beyond mind is true, is real.

just because you don't think about it doesn't mean your brain isn't calculating it. virtually every movement your body makes obeys the laws of gravity, if it didn't, you would not be able to move with any accuracy.

what you call your mind is your idea about yourself, and maybe, peripherally, you grasp that it is your attention. computers have attention too, though their circuits are simpler and less smooshy. in a computer system the focus of attention is in a register called the 'program counter' which tells it where to get its next instruction from. This instruction could be part of a string that forms the function 'measure the temperature' or 'copy the input from a camera buffer into a file on disk'. It is still attention. Attention, aka consciousness, is simply what your mind's scanners are focusing on. In the human brain this focus can actually be seen by special machines that show it as an area of increased electrical activity. our brains don't have only one centre of focus, just as modern computers no longer do either. the video processor has its own focus of attention, the cpu has one, the chip that shuffles memory in and out of the ram chips, from the hard drives, pci slots and so forth, it has a focus of attention also.

it's absurd nonsense to say that this does not exist somewhere. it exists inside your head, and i know it does, and anyone can see it does, because if you chopped off your head, it would stop happening.

consciousness is an imaginary idea, and if I am not aware of it, it is not happening

my brain is also a imaginary idea, because I would die if I tried to cut it open and see it

I have never seen a persons brain, so it is just a story, something imaginary, not true, a lie

@onesunbeingnow very interesting point of view!) I understand that math can be not interesting for you... But to deny the information as a whole - very strong.

I don't deny information, I just accept that it is just information, matter that has not taken form yet, so I can pick and choose whether I care about it or not. I only care about some basic information that is required to keep me at a high level of joy and fun. If it gets too complex the joy and fun have to be sacrificed for some perceived future gain. What is really happening here is that one shuts everything else and focuses really hard to see the hologram change before oneself into what one wants to see.

this is an effective way to have a nice dream but it isn't a practical way of doing something productive. maybe sometimes it is productive to have a nice dream, but not always. most of the time, actually, you have to do something productive, even if it's just alleiviating discomforts your body goes through on a regular basis, the urge to wee, the urge to take a dump, the urge to fuck, and the urge to eat. in between that, somewhere the food has to find a way into the mouth and it won't do it by itself, you are the only person who cares about it, as much as you do, and if you didn't, then why would anyone else care either?

dreaming is to think my imagination is real

In science, what is assumed to be the theory of today may be an approximation of the theory of tomorrow. Knowledge is not static. It evolves with time and postulates may change over time.

One thing however, science is not a matter of beliefs. We have facts, proofs, predictions, assumptions, etc. Now, if one does not accept proofs, it is another issue (and I am wondering what would be wrong with a proof not to accept it).

I nevertheless strongly agree with you on one point: it is always good to ask ourselves questions. :)

[ I know I already said that in other posts. ]

Knowledge ceases as soon as it is not on my mind. It does not exist if I do not give it attention.

My proof is my experience, and my level of experience is higher than mere words. Words, thoughts etc don't validate my experience, experience allows words to think as though they provide something called 'validation'. When really all they do is invalidate my experience by adding useless nonsense to the raw intensity of a direct experience. Direct personal experience is what matters, is what is true, and words come after the fact to label things as this or that, when its just light.

To be honest, the question/answer loop is for slaves who like staying trapped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81