POP contest - Power of Positivity - The Amazing Determination of Toddlers!

in #popcontest7 years ago (edited)

Babies are Awesome Examples of Pure 'Go Forward'

Have you ever looked into the eyes of a newborn? Could you sense the pure unconditioned, egoless joy and wonder emanating from its soul? If not, look again - babies are the purest, most spectacular window into our Universe.

Then watch what it does, how it moves, and associates itself with its surroundings. Babies, no doubt are sponges, downloading vast amounts of information moment to moment, without judgment or prejudice. Without conditioning nor ego, babies are free to learn without criticism, guilt, shame, and embarrassment.

Watching babies learn to walk, bar none, is the most incredible site to behold

I clearly remember watching my younger brother taking his first tentative steps across my bedroom floor. I'm nine years older. The expression on his face was priceless. 

After thousands of failed attempts, and learning to fall first, my little bro was doing it! And I couldn't have any happier, nor my mum (that's how it's spelt in the UK) who was shrieking with delight. It was truly amazing to witness, and it still brings a smile to my face decades on.

Babies have no ego

How many times have I given up on something because of embarrassment, or thinking 'I'm not cut out for this'? Too many to number. Piano, French, and cooking anything resembling real food come to mind.

 If I had to learn to walk today (at 44) it would probably be a different story. I'd be concerned about making a fool of myself, making sure out of the corner of my eye nobody was watching, and then after falling 5000 times, throw in my towel, curse loudly and vow never to walk again because 'Walking Fucking Sucks!' I'd be confined to a life on my hands and knees, and that would suck even more. EDIT - c'mon, that's not what I'm saying :/

My ego, and sense of pride would have gotten in the way. I would have given up to preserve my sense of self, and then rationalised that my pursuit was a waste of time. Enough of being 'Butt-hurt', both literally and figuratively, I'd then try to forget about walking, and never speak of it again for all of eternity.

I trust you're catching my drift by now?

Failing, or falling is fine. I'm sure there's some kind of etymological connection between the words, but don't quote me on that, because I'm just winging this.

But more than that, the key for me whenever learning something new, or embarking on a new venture is Patience + Persistence. And the side effects of these equals POSITIVITY! A self affirming feedback loop is created, and BOOM, I'm walking, then toddling (is that a word?) and then running!

So in a nutshell - Watch and Learn from those little magicians. Share in their bliss, and carry it forward into the world. It's cool to fail/fall - in fact we need to!

YEAH BABY YEAH! 

Thanks to anyone who's read this. It's been fun to take part in this contest, so thanks even further to @karenmckersie for hosting this. 

P.S Let's keep Steemit fun, yeah?

P.P.S If you want to recapture that baby spirit, take up yoga - you'll be humbled, amazed, and positively blown away.

@steemmeupscotty

And - AND - WATCH THIS! You'll be positively amazed :)



Oh, and cheers to Google for the images, and Vimeo for the video


Sort:  

And this is how we learn !! "We need to crawl before we can walk " loved your story , thanks so much for sharing it with us in my #popcontest ! Lots of fun filled , positive spirit ! Good luck ! upped and resteemed👍👍👍😂💙

Thank you @karenmckersie - was a pleasure writing this ;)

your welcome!👍

I have just got a new theory of eternity.

- Albert Einstein

I like this post :) I never knew how much I'd love babies until I became a parent. I especially love babies who seem like such an "old soul", and the amazing "life force" vibe they exhuberate always gets me. I totally agree that babies have no ego, and I love how you put it.

Best of luck with the pop contest!

Thanks so much for your great comment - truly appreciated :) You've got a new follower.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steemmeupscotty from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 3.57 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @steemmeupscotty. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow!

Your post is fantastic. You are a Master Steemian! More People Should Follow You And Upvote Your post which has received a 25.00 % upvote from @binkley thanks to: @steemthat for verifying this quality post. binkleybot.png Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow. When I Grow You Grow Too And I Can Verify More Posts.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @steemmeupscotty. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @steemmeupscotty to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33