The Complexity of the Human Mind | Dealing with Aggression and Rage with Mindfulness and Neutrality

in #popcontest7 years ago (edited)

The Complexity of the Human Mind

The human mind is complex, diverse, unique. You never really know what goes on in other people's heads. A person's thoughts are an enigma; a code which requires arduous efforts to decipher. And it is in this complexity that diversity arises. We all have different opinions, likes, pet peeves, perspectives. The list could go on.

mental-2301393_960_720.jpg
johnhain. Retrieved from pixabay.com

Point is: We are all different. We have our own stories to tell and unresolved emotions to explore.

With this diversity, conflict is inevitable. However most of the time, miscommunications simply arises from lack of understanding. When both decide that their individual opinion should prevail over the other, this often results in a clash of points of view causing a spark to ignite. Now this is no big problem. One should just accept the other's perspective and call it quits, right? Well in a utopian world, maybe. But in most scenarios, that isn't the case.
Both sides are entitled to their opinions. All views and perspectives are valid in their own sense. Yet when the ego is wounded by the fire that was lit, we often resort to aggression. We raise our voices, drop our eyebrows. Self-righteousness kicks in. Our pride skyrockets. We become monstrous, deviant to social norms and revert back to our primal instincts: Rage.

cry-1682140_960_720.jpg
geralt. Retrieved from pixabay.com

The initial reaction is aggression. Perfectly predictable yet totally unacceptable. Yet looking back at our history books in a historical perspective: Fighting fire with fire only sets it ablaze. Wars never brought peace but more violence, death, and anguish.

embers-2799375_960_720.jpg
Monsterkoi. Retrieved from pixabay.com

When will we ever learn? Simple. It all starts with ourselves. It is important to see the human mind as a predictable object; no matter how complex it is, that it can be managed when properly understood.

Dealing with Aggression and rage

Let's start with our own minds. The first step is to be aware of our own flaws. We should become mindful of our actions.
"Did I raise my voice, was my tone alright, was I pointing fingers, did I curse, was I aggressive myself? We need to ask ourselves these questions. What could I have said and done to spark the flame and what should I do to extinguish it? Perhaps he didn't mean to offend but only felt like he is attacked. Maybe I only saw his aggression and lost sight of him as a result of my oppression"

It can be noted that when we see ourselves outside our own point of view, we begin to see the world differently. We look at ourselves and see our own imperfections and our mistakes. In the same sense, we develop a soft spot for others. We are all dealing with the same human experience and having a clear and calm mind helps in the process.

face-636092_960_720.jpg
geralt. Retrieved from pixabay.com

When we have detached ourselves to neutrality, we can examine another's experience in their own light. "Perhaps he has a point. What has been going on in his life lately? He may just be tired from work. Maybe he had a recent loss. It could probably be how he was brought up as a child. After all, attitude is formed from interaction with the environment. If I were not angry, what could have been his side of the story?"

No matter how thin we slice it, there will always be two sides of the coin. No one is ultimately right or wrong. Situations are not always as they seem
adult-1807526_960_720.jpg
sasint. Retrieved from pixabay.com

When two sides of the coin are shown, only then can the conflict be managed. Either through a win-win situation or through compromise. Conflict is inevitable but manageable. As adaptable beings, we need to learn to mediate through our own mistakes and be will g to accept our flaws. That is how we can grow as individuals. Detachment from our pride and acceptance of diversity.


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

Sort:  

Congratulations @josejirafa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Kumusta @josejirafa
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!

You have been spotted by a human @josejirafa to possess rare gem!
To remove barriers: 'Everyone must have something to offer'!
#untalented abolishes the conditioning attached to IQ tests e.g smart, dull, bum and you suddenly give every human a chance to shine!
So if Bill Gates did Microsoft and i can do Macro-hard, aren't we both genius? Oh, we both are!

'We are genius!' 'We are human!'

Join the steemgigs community on discord https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.
However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type 'steemgigs' in the first search box.

See this URL for more info
https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

I often find that if I just let the feeling pass, I am better able to respond.

I have also found a sort of test to pass my words through. If I am contemplating a response, I say it in my head and imagine saying it. If during that test I feel a burning or tingling sensation in my chest or my stomach, I hold my tongue and rephrase until there is no burning or tingling. If I cannot avoid that, I wait until a better response can be formulated.

If there is a strong disturbance within me, I do what I can to quell that disturbance, even if the apparent cause is someone else's behavior.

Anger clouds the mind, and decision making is far more difficult in a state of anger than at peace.

I quell the disturbance myself to take responsibility for my own feelings and to avoid giving power to others.

What a great way to avoid conflict! It's easy and effective.

I totally agree with you in that. Anger blocks the person's point of view and shifts our attention to only our own. This is the reason why we must first have peace of mind before engaging in discourse.

Thanks for commenting. Im giving you a full upvote but that's all the juice I can extract from my steem power. It's good to know that you understand my post.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @josejirafa to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.17 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Cool. Thanks

Great Post ! Thanks so much for entering it in my #popcontest ! sorry im haveing int ernet and steemit issues , but hopefull you were upped and resteemed this the third post now , im tired after christmas and going to sleep ! Someone was trying to hack mg account , by asking for my private keys and not allowing me to respond to links without it !

Thanks for reading it. It turns out that you already did upvote and resteem my post. My gratitude for your help.

About your account. That sounds awful. Not sure how I can help you with that but perhaps you could secure your private keys so no one else has it? Am I right? But thanks for informing me.

You should probably take some rest. You cant continue to spread positivity and good vibes without a good night's rest. Enjoy the holidays!

Its all working good now , it was just another entry that linked from somewhere else other then steemit.com ! lol . and that never happened before so it didnt recognize the link. All is good for everyone else though haha ! thanks/!😀

I'm new here. I don't know anything or anyone. can you help me, please?
Also Please like my post,please vote,comments and resteem it. @bijoy123

Im actually quite a newbie myself. I just joined 2 weeks ago. Im still a novice here juat like you but sure, I would like to help.

When I first came into steemit, I was told to make an #introduceyourself post. You make a post about who you arr, what you like, where you are from and what you would like to do in steemit. That usually helps to get attention especially from people with same interests or in the same location you are from. Do include photos of yourself. And use the tag #introduceyourself and four other tags which are relevant to your post.

Maybe you can start from there and tell me when you are done with that. Steemit is a great community and you can earn a lot here by posting about your thoughts. It's not going to be easy and you won't be a millionaire overnight. Just enjoy what you do.

Try to find people of the same interests as well, make friends along the way and build a big network of people who know you. Maybe that will help.

Steemit is a place for people who want to share something to the community and get return of investment for it. Perhaps you can explore the platform and try to think what you want to consistently do here in the platform.

Hope you work on your post. If you are having trouble still, maybe I can ask some people I know to help you. Just tell me. Enjoy steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75