Thinking positively makes us feel better

in #popcontest6 years ago (edited)

happy face.jpg

First of all, it is important to clarify that happiness is not a goal nor a place to reach, but it is the path, the power to enjoy every day of our lives fully taking advantage of each experience despite adversity.

The first step we have to take is to learn to control our thoughts because they determine our well-being (or discomfort) much more than we usually believe. If they ask you: What do you think determines what you feel good or bad about? what happens to you in life or how do you interpret what happens to you? Most people would respond that what happens to us is what makes us feel good or bad. Let's see it with an example:

It's Monday morning, the alarm goes off at 06.30, you have to go to work (a job that does not particularly excite you but pays the bills at the end of the month), it's cold and it's raining outside.

You have two options about how to start your day


The first, saying something like: "Again, Monday, I do not want to get up, I do not want to go to that job that I do not like at all. It is raining, I hate rain in the morning. Well, the week has started “well”, this can only get worse ... ".

And the second one: "Well, it's time to get up and start the week. I do not especially like this job but thanks to it I have been able to become independent and I am learning many things that will be good for me when I decide to go and find a better job ... ".

Which of the two options do you think you will feel better with? With which of the two will you start and face the day better? The reality is that in any case you have to get up and go to work, no matter how much you hate and grumble at the end you will get out of bed, so ... why not do it in a good or better mood?

smile.jpg

In the same situation, one person may feel completely unhappy, another may feel more or less indifferent and another may even feel lucky. The difference is in how each one (or even the same person at different times) interprets that situation. Each one of us has the capacity or the freedom to choose the thoughts that will determine to a large extent how we are going to feel and how we are going to act. It is no longer useful to blame others about what happens to us because the one who has the final say on how we feel and consequently how we act is ourselves.

On the other hand, we need to accept the fact there will always be some complicated situations in our lives, that might cause us negative emotions (which are totally ok to experience), nevertheless, even though we can feel sadness, it is up to us if we allow depression to take over or not. We can always be in control of our emotional state, no matter what circumstances life throws at us.

Now stop and think about how you habitually interpret the situations of the day to day, do you usually do it in a negative way? Do you choose the option that makes you feel worse? Or are you trying to interpret it more realistically? And notice that I say realistically because in most cases it is not even necessary to make an optimistic and positive interpretation, only realistic, so that the internal phrases that we repeat are not harmful towards us.

If in your case, you tend to stay with the negative (and destructive) thoughts, the next time one pass through your mind, capture it, analyze how realistic it is, rely on facts and realize if it is helping you to achieve your goals and feel better If not, try to replace it with another more positive (and constructive) thought, that is more realistic and above all helps you feel better. At first this task will be complicated but with practice (like almost everything in this life) you will find it easier until it even comes out without having to make many efforts.

day.jpg

Conclusion


No matter what happens to us, we can always choose how are we going to think and feel towards it, in most situations there is a positive perspective and negative, and its only up to us which one to take. I think its fair to say that taking the positive perspective will always be much more beneficial to our mental health.

Not only that, choosing to take the positive side of things can also makes us more productive, simply because of the fact of having a good mood improves our energy and the atmosphere around us.




All images are from pixabay




If these titles sound interesting to you, I assure you the articles will be even better!




Thoughts on "Artificial Intelligence and Consciousness"


Reflections about trusting other people


"A day in the future": Using our body's kinetic energy to power a micro GPS


Sometimes the best thing is to say "No"


Do you have a clone somewhere in the universe?


Reflections about acting towards our goals

final banner.JPG

Sort:  

We can always be in control of our emotional state, no matter what circumstances life throws at us.

I understand the sediment and believe in most cases this is true but chemical imbalances are not something you can think away. That said I wholeheartly believe that what we think, we then find things to prove so why not start the day off with good thoughts instead of bad. 😁

I am new pls support me upvote

Not the way to get followers... Lucky it doesn't get a flag. Please don't beg for votes, especially when you haven't contributed anything.

Exactly. We can always control our thoughts! And therefore, our overall mood. :D

I always control our thought also

Hey, this is so true. You control your attitude which creates your world. Positive or negative. It starts with you.

Hello! :)

I am @ashleykalila and I am a curator for @OCD!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

Also please consider voting for our witness : @ocd-witness

✨🙌

Yes! Of course I Accept! Thanks! :D

Holy crap, you are at 57 rep already! You are a machine. This post is great and basically the same message of many of my own, I think I’ll resteem it.

Thanks bro! That’s also because of the utopian contributions I have made. I am thinking about doing them on an alt account btw.

Thanks for the support my man! :D

Why alt account?
And no problem, You deserve it

Well I am just thinking about separating my normal blogging from utopian contributions

The very first paragraph clearly shows how I was leading a life. Thankfully I managed to rewire my brain to see the positive side of things :) I can assure everyone that once they look at things from the positive side, It'll change the whole situation.

Have a great day!

Heyy @macchiata!! Good for you for changing your way of thinking into a more positive one! I am sure you noticed the effect it has!

Cheers!

Wow. A nice write up. But when I feel like am not okay with this job or am not interested in it or I anytime I feel like waking especially after weekends, its always like Why Monday again?. I think there should b option to choose another job of my choice.

You are right pal! That option should also need to be taken into account!

Wonderful words of wisdom @dedicatedguy I believe you have chosen exactly the right tag for yourself. I look forward to reading more inspirational articles from you. (Following) N.B. Love the 2 cute sheep with the sweet smiles.

Thanks for your encouraging words! :D

You're very welcome @dedicatedguy I really enjoyed your blog.

I choose no. 2. Always face the day with positive thinking makes me light, I mean I don't feel so stressful although many negative situation around us. It is great article and it reminds me about the popcontest - I haven't start my positive article yet :D

Good for you for always keeping the right attitude. That’s the spirit!

Completely agree. I'm someone that seems to get upset all the time over and over. I'm continually reminded that most of the time people aren't trying to piss you off. That guy that cut you off in traffic didn't do so just to ruin your day specifically. The only thing we can control in life is how we react to the bad so why not react in a positive way.

Exactly! It’s s always up to us how we react to things outside our control.

Nice one @dedicatedguy, I had a post on this not too long ago. I totally agree, even if we are in a job we don't like, there is no benefit to being negative about it. THe more positivity we bring to the world, the more the world will return to us, so being upbeat at that job, or having a positive outlook on working to change it can make all the difference. I'm not saying it's easy, sometimes it's hard to accept our current position in life, but that's the only way to progress to a more ideal place. Same goes for all other aspects, we need a close look in the mirror, and the strength to maintain our positive outlook

BTW what is the popcontest tag for?

It’s a contest run by her @karenmckersie :D

I think the same bro. Our way of thinking can change the outlook of things. That’s why having the right mentality is so important. I also agree with you when this

THe more positivity we bring to the world, the more the world will return to us

If we focus on positive things we will bring positive things to us, the same happens with negative things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88