You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don’t give yourself away - Steem Power and the Self [Musing of a Meandering Mind]

in #popcontest7 years ago

You know what, this is something I have been thinking about quite a lot recently. Plenty of my friends do exactly the same thing, I have been wondering how much of that we really do for ourselves, and how much we do for the approval of others. Although I suppose that is still for yourself, just getting there a different way. I did even give it a try for a while but I reached the same conclusion, it just isn't me.

I do things like take a few hours one weekend to read a book I want to read. Once a week I try to watch a bit of a tv series I know isn't that good, or is completely out there, because I enjoy it anyway. I grow veg in the garden but then I share it, so I started growing house plants. They are mainly ones I got half dead and reduced from a supermarket. Every Sunday I bring them all into the bathroom and water them all together, then I tend to just sit and look at them for a bit to let them drain any excess water. Although it is taking care of something, it does give me a bit of time to think and some have got so pretty! I found it so hard when I first tried it, I really struggling to find things I could do, but the more I tried to find things for myself, regardless of reviews or recommendations, the more I found myself loving whole new things. I don't know if any of that is something that you would enjoy or could give you a place to start looking? :)

I think to begin with, I started asking myself why I was doing things, what I really enjoyed and what I maybe liked more because other people did. In a way it has helped me both discover and accept my self a little bit more. I still haven't managed to find more than a few hours of things to do a week, so I am still looking for more ideas myself :)

Sort:  

I love the idea about a book! I haven't done that in a while. Also the tv shows is a good idea. I only recently started to watch shows again but not many, like you I just do it once a week. I have a "relaxation problem" I guess. Love your plants and how you help them... they are beautiful and lush and certainly give back by just being present. I think the way you water them is very relaxing sounding.

Well let me know if you end up with any good book recommendations lol I do watch plenty of tv really lol, but once a week I watch my tv, instead of things anyone else would agree to watch. It has been strangely empowering to seek out things that are just for me, I hope it turns out to be as much fun for you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61184.91
ETH 2402.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64