You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don’t give yourself away - Steem Power and the Self [Musing of a Meandering Mind]

in #popcontest7 years ago

Thank you for the thoughtful article. I sometimes struggle with what to do just for myself. It always ends up being practical, like buying a needed new pair of sneakers because the ones I have a hole in them, or a "nice haircut" which really is necessary grooming. Other women in my life do things like get manicures or buy expensive makeups and are always telling me to "take care of myself" - but that just isn't me and it always seems to be advice about outward appearance. Do you have any ideas for someone who just doesn't care about material/looks very much? Thank you :)

Sort:  

You know what, this is something I have been thinking about quite a lot recently. Plenty of my friends do exactly the same thing, I have been wondering how much of that we really do for ourselves, and how much we do for the approval of others. Although I suppose that is still for yourself, just getting there a different way. I did even give it a try for a while but I reached the same conclusion, it just isn't me.

I do things like take a few hours one weekend to read a book I want to read. Once a week I try to watch a bit of a tv series I know isn't that good, or is completely out there, because I enjoy it anyway. I grow veg in the garden but then I share it, so I started growing house plants. They are mainly ones I got half dead and reduced from a supermarket. Every Sunday I bring them all into the bathroom and water them all together, then I tend to just sit and look at them for a bit to let them drain any excess water. Although it is taking care of something, it does give me a bit of time to think and some have got so pretty! I found it so hard when I first tried it, I really struggling to find things I could do, but the more I tried to find things for myself, regardless of reviews or recommendations, the more I found myself loving whole new things. I don't know if any of that is something that you would enjoy or could give you a place to start looking? :)

I think to begin with, I started asking myself why I was doing things, what I really enjoyed and what I maybe liked more because other people did. In a way it has helped me both discover and accept my self a little bit more. I still haven't managed to find more than a few hours of things to do a week, so I am still looking for more ideas myself :)

I love the idea about a book! I haven't done that in a while. Also the tv shows is a good idea. I only recently started to watch shows again but not many, like you I just do it once a week. I have a "relaxation problem" I guess. Love your plants and how you help them... they are beautiful and lush and certainly give back by just being present. I think the way you water them is very relaxing sounding.

Well let me know if you end up with any good book recommendations lol I do watch plenty of tv really lol, but once a week I watch my tv, instead of things anyone else would agree to watch. It has been strangely empowering to seek out things that are just for me, I hope it turns out to be as much fun for you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64