Poloniex and Steemit

in #poloniex7 years ago (edited)

Why does Poloniex have $50 million dollars parked in its Steemit wallet?

I and many others want to know this.

What happens if all that Steem hits the market at once in the case of some "unforseen craziness" at Poloniex?

Whose Steem IS IT?

SteemitPoloniex-warning.png

graphic from barrydutton

Sort:  

I have had so many issues with this exchange recently. Withdrawals not processed (marked as awaiting spproval for over a week), support tickets not answered in days. Once I have my funds back I won't use them again!

same here! You plan on switching over to Bitrex or something else? I'd love suggestions. Thanks.

I have been using bitrex recently with no issues so I'll probably just stick with that. I lost quite a bit when mt gox went down, so I won't leave funds on an exchange though.

I am seriously, seriously not trying to facilitate panic, but it would seem to me that the word should get out there, on a large scale, that this exchange is acting in a way that should worry people. This doesn't just impact the customers of the exchange, but the entire crypto market. Some people are very worried about this, and it would seem that they have very good reason. Poloniex's behavior is reminiscent of a few other large companies which have vaporized recently.

It's common knowledge around Steemit at this point I think. The problem is - what can anybody do?

Polo is also stating not existing problems with BTS. Look at this https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php/topic,24531.0.html

I would withdraw all funds from poloniex..

I can tell you that my Steem is stuck in their wallet! No response to support tickets drives customers away.

I transferred to @poloniex without checking to see that they had disabled Steem withdrawals on their site. The transactions get stuck in their Steemit account until the support team manually moves the transaction.

Calling all Witnesses I voted for: The Steemit community needs to take action against this bad actor!

Hey, I noticed STEEM withdrawals were again available at Polo and I tried to move a small amount first but unfortunately got an ERROR. Tried again with the same result. I wonder, moving STEEM from Polo to STEEMIT what address do we use? Is it the Active Key under Permissions in the Wallet, do you happen to know?

Why do they have $50 million parked in their STEEM wallet? Is it that when STEEM is purchased from Polo they deposit it in that account? If so then it's OUR STEEM that we cannot transfer. What gives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45