Poloniex Withdrawal ... Testing ....

in #poloniex7 years ago (edited)

Poloniex exchange is quite a topic lately. It has allegedly been under several DDOS attacks, withdrawals are not being carried out or are taking ages, ...

I personally don't know if anything above is true. I do know that Poloniex, as any other exchange lately, is under a record load. No wonder with prices rising to the sky.

No online service can adapt without some major hiccups to such rapid and huge increase of demand.


There is only one way to see how thing really. To test it personally.

I am going to withdraw some BTC from Poloniex to my local wallet to see what will happen.

Test starting now ...

  1. Withdrawal request - done
  2. Confirmation email - received immediately
  3. Withdrawal confirmed - at exactly 2017-05-19 21:28:51 UTC

Now all I have to do is to wait and see when will my satoshis arrive. If they will arrive :)

I'll keep you posted!


In the meantime - have a great weekend. Get some quality time with your loved ones and take a rest from all this crypto business :)

Have a coffee ...

Sort:  

Already celebrating with a coffee. It should arrive.
Then you can get a beer.

Yes, it arrived without any problems.

Coffee done, beer coming up this afternoon :)

lovely 😊

I am curious to see how long it will take!

Me too :)

So - do we agree that the transaction will come through? ;)

Of course!

It will! But the timing could be hours

you r withdrawn btc. I feel this is not 100% related to the poloniex, it also involve with 220000 unconfirmed btc transitions.

The purpose of this test was to see if I can withdraw btc. I can:

I recently withdrew all my DASH from Poloniex to a Trezor wallet. I'd been watching several YouTube videos on security, and thought "Now's the time to secure my stuff!"

I'll probably move some BTC from Coinbase to the Trezor later today. Over half my BTC is "vaulted" with Coinbase. I don't know how safe that is, but it's safer than a hot wallet I'm sure.

It is a prudent move to move your assets off exchanges. OK, there are some fees involved but better that than nothing.

I have my bitcoins and ethereum based assets in local wallets. All backed up, of course.

Got my withdrawals within a block, polo used a very decent transaction fee.

Thanks for your info.

The same here.

Yes, the fee is astoundingly low :)

tested with any other coins? did tests for ltc, gnt, eth all worked fine for me. deposit also went reasonably swift. maybe timing can still make a difference though.. either way gppd that you share your results too!

No, just with btc for withdrawal. I am a traditionalist :)

SBD deposit was fairly quick too.

good to know! Polo has been struggling lately, but my feeling is they have a commitment for the long run. However, everybody should monitor them closely.. I'm mostly worried about the trade silence I've seen on some pairs. Zero volumes for hours.. Hope they get their act together.

Maybe, a pure speculation on my part, they put on hold some less frequent combinations to spare the resources. I would do some damage control as a sysadmin. Imagine the load increase they must deal with. That spells hardware, software, human resources ... Costs :)

I wonder how much is "a Poloniex problem" and how much is "a heavy volume problem."

Unrelated, I pulled about 0.3 BTC out of my Bittrex account yesterday to my local wallet... took about three minutes from withdrawing confirmation to local wallet confirmation. Just offering for comparison.

Thanks for the info.

It certainly is a high volume issue - both on Poloniex and on blockchain.

The difference between your withdrawal and the actual transaction depends, in my opinion, on a bit of luck. Free, traffic, how quickly is the current block full ...

Anyways, it is working.

Bitcoin just hit $2000 so we'll see what happens with Poloniex, I haven't noticed anything hugely worrying though but I can understand people being concerned with the sudden growth.

What I have noticed is Steemit going down every now and then recently.

9min since you posted any luck?
I just wrote about this issues also, Luckily I read up about them before playing around with there fancy site, i've been seeing allot of Polo users in the waiting game right now!
I upvoted you to make awareness about this ongoing issue!

Here is the transaction: https://blockchain.info/tx/b321244606713808b137e2d0a81cf00a03e3638c461b6f8a4bcd65f4fd7504e3

Local wallet has it as unconfirmed:

It arrived on 21:46 UTC.

It's on its way ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48