My Trick To Deposit My STEEM/SBD On Poloniex When They Have Maintaince

in #poloniex7 years ago

When it works, Poloniex is my favorite Bitcoin exchange... It has a way lower withdrawal fees than other exchanges. But for some reason, Poloniex always faces problems with STEEM deposits, that I might recommend to avoid it altogether.

Salam

If you tried to deposit STEEM or SBD into Poloniex in the last 3 days, you might not have seen the money... Don't kill yourself in worry, because they didn't take your money and it isn't lost forever... But worry still:

PoloneixSteemitExchange.png

Steem is currently under maintenance, or experiencing wallet/network issues.

Last time this happened it took them 3 months to fix whatever the problem was.
So yeah... If you sent something and you still didn't receive it... It might take a long time before you see your money again.

Always Send A Test Amount When Dealing With Poloniex

Each time you want to transfer STEEM or SBD to Poloniex, I suggest that you send $1 or less, just to check that their deposits are still working... Give them 1 hour at most and if you didn't find the amount you sent in your poloniex wallet consider them having a wallet issues.

If that happened, you can use another exchange (like Bittrex or Blocktrades) or put your money there indirectly throught another coin.

A Trick To Send STEEM/SBD indirectly

Using Blocktrades.us you can exchange your STEEM/SBD at the current rate to any of the major crypto coins (Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum and Dash)... You might want to send to your own wallet... But if you want Bitcoin then that might become a problem as the current transfer fee is around $15!!

So If you want Bitcoin I'd recommend using Poloniex, exchanging to Litecoin for low fees (Doge has lower fees if you want to try), get your LTC address and send from your steemit wallet to that address via blocktrades. Here's how:

PoloneixLitecoinDeposit.png

1. From Deposits tab, get your Poloniex's Litecoin Address.

2. Open Blocktrades.us Choose "STEEM/SBD to Litecoin", having an account might help but not required.

3. Put your Litecoin address from above.

4. Get the @blocktrades steemit username, and copy the memo.

BlockTradesExchange2.png

5. Keep the fees in mind, and send any amount of SBD/STEEM to @blocktrades with the memo. You can check the "Receive (estimated amount)" tab as the fees are already calculated in.

Any time you use that memo from now on, it will send to the same LTC address of your Poloniex account. The process is basically instant (it might take 20 minutes for Poloniex to register the LTC received)... After that you can use the Litecoin for exchange to Bitcoin.



Why Poloniex? Why not send to your Wallet directly through Blocktrades?

Depends on what you want that might be the best... use this trick only if:

  • You want to use Poloniex as a low-fee Bitcoin wallet (to buy cheaper stuff)... But remember that not all websites take payments from exchanges, and exchange withdrawals might be slow sometimes.
  • You want to exchange crypto-currencies on Poloniex (though you might want to use another exchange with better costumer service for that)

Well, it's not much of a trick is it?

But I took some time to discover this so I figured people might want to be aware of this option. What do you think? I wish to know what's poloniex's problem with Steem wallet though.

All images are screenshots of Poloniex and Blocktrades, made by me...
Sort:  

3 months to fix seems like a long time! I have been trying to get STEEM on HitBTC, but it's also "in maintainance".
Do you use anything in the mean time? I use Changelly.com

Yeah, it's a long time, but I like Poloniex better than alternatives when I use Bitcoin (I use Bittrex too but their fee is way higher)... I wish more companies accept Litecoin for payments because then I could use my wallet directly.

Changelly works like Blocktrades right?

Yeah! Changelly works like Blocktrades, though I think they have slightly lower fees based on the VERY few times I had compared. (Edit: Also, Changelly has a minimum transaction value, but I don't think Blocktrades does. )

I wish I could use Poloniex, but I live in 1 of 2 US states that share similar Internet laws with North Korea. It hurts so bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35