From Flat Earth to Moon Landing Hoax... Why are there so many conspiracies?

in #politics7 years ago

I was born in the summer of 1961 and remember being woken up by mom to see the lunar module touch down on the lunar surface when I was almost 8 years old. My great grandmother died a month to the day later and died believing that it was a hoax. She was born in 1879 and was quite old. Most people from my generation who actually witnessed this don't have a problem believing it happened as stated. But it seems as though for a large segment of the population born after 1970, everything put out by the media is suspect.

However, I remember things quite differently. The media wasn't this slick operation that it is now and they frequently flubbed things up. Advertising was very simple and not glamorous. Psychological tricks were to a minimum. People in general didn't worry as much about appearances. People weren't so "over the top".

This video gets into the technical aspects of the Moon Landing from a professional photographer.

Andreas Antonopoulos had something interesting to say about this phenomenon in that the fact checkers were outsourced by the large media conglomerates starting at the dawn of the internet era because the newspapers main source of revenue was undercut (the Classified AD's) by the internet which "Craigslisted" everything for free. So now big news agencies and everyday internet bloggers produce "truth" at a relatively similar rate.

Fear is very much more prevalent today than it was back then. Life was a lot more carefree and not so deadly serious all the time. I hope one day to see this atmosphere return, but before that can happen I suspect we will have to clean house in a massive parasite removal operation.

Sort:  

Hey zoidsoft - the manipulation was going on easily 20 years before the moon landing. I remember taking a social psych course in 75 or so, where we used a book called "Subliminal Seduction". But yeah, the moon landing was as real as anything else.

I remember that too. I remember the alcohol AD's in the 70's where the ice had hidden pictures in them. Very primitive though at the time compared to what's happening now.

The word you live in is a lie and I have filmed the evidence personally

911 and other events like it stink. But you weren't there when I was a kid. I was born in the country on 70 acres on farm land. No TV. Played in the mud, no propaganda, just family. Dad used to go down to uncle Walt's to watch the "Lone Ranger" because he was the only one who had a TV within a couple of miles.

They were all black and white back then, then around 1965 came the first color, but we didn't see color TV's until 1970. In the late 60's just before color TV's arrived, I remember this weird polarizing film we placed over our first TV set to give it "color". It was crappy by todays standards.

The psychological manipulation of Edward Bernays and Sigmund Freud took time to be used more effectively. Many decades in fact. Partly this is because the power structure wasn't as advanced and partly because the technology was more primitive.

I hope the "massive parasite removal operation" you bring up at the end is referring to the removal of those in the mainstream media who have created this phenomenon in our society through fear mongering

nice post.

If you like my Posts, just Follow me and Resteem and Upvote my Posts. @thunderland

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 2.40 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @zoidsoft. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 3.00 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @zoidsoft.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @zoidsoft. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64