Why Are The Homeless And Poor Not Being Helped?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

A conversation on the subject of homeless people with the average Brit and me usually leads to an argument. I find most peoples ignorance offensive when it comes this subject. Comments and ideas like “even if they had money they would just buy drugs” or “its usually their own fault they’re homeless” are pretty ridiculous and ignorant comments. I believe people that live on the streets are sometimes (not always) attracted to drugs especially strong and dangerous drugs because of the situation that they have found themselves in.

Drugs tend to numb pain and even feelings so people in both physical and emotional pain attract towards them. I have never been that experimental with drugs, I have always approached with caution. I lived in a town where it was almost fashionable to inhale gas, inject heroin, smoke weed and snort cocaine. I never touched heroin in my life and I tried gas but never liked or even understood why people would ever do that shit more than once. The only drugs I have ever taken with any consistency is Cannabis and Cocaine nothing else ever really appealed to me. I feared many drugs and I managed to stay away from serous addiction. The only drugs I am really addicted to is Tobacco and tea! I smoke weed but I can go without when I need to, I really struggle to go without tobacco and I drink obscene amounts of tea.

Many of my friends however did take much stronger drugs and many of them are still living with the constituencies of it to this day. When I actually think about it I can honestly say I can’t think of a single person that I know that does not do drugs. So how does drug addiction lead to being made homeless? NOBODY is selling their house to buy drugs the system is creating homeless numbers to increase not drug addiction or anything else.

Anybody that walks around any city or decent size town will know there are much more homeless people now then ten or twenty years ago. And the problem is even worse than it appears as many of the homeless are removed from public view by being offered tents in more secluded, unseen areas. The reason that many reject or do not like to stay in these tents because by sleeping in shop windows in busy city centers they are more likely to get a bit of money.

The British government are at the moment shamefully and disgracefully failing and even victimizing these people. There are literally people freezing to death in the streets they are being given no home, no support and not even a glimmer of hope no wonder they turn to drugs. Even worse is because of a lack of money they turn to cheap much more dangerous drugs. The reason that many turn to stronger drugs has nothing to do them wanting to get more fucked and more to do with them wanting to get fucked for cheaper.

A system that allowed drugs to be distributed more freely (especially cannabis) could lead to drugs being much more affordable which I believe would actually help the homeless massively.

But what they really need is to be re-homed as quickly as possible but they’re not, they’re just left homeless and desperate sitting in shop windows hoping somebody throws them a pound.

The point I am trying to make is we don’t know what could have lead to people ending up in the situations that they end up in, we have have not lived their lives yet some are so quick to judge and place themselves as superior. But these people are somebodies child and one day it could be you or even worse your child so they should be prioritized, supported and re-homed.

Sort:  

@wolvoman: The following words in your post deserve my upvote and resteem:
"But what they really need is to be re-homed as quickly as possible but they’re not, they’re just left homeless and desperate sitting in shop windows hoping somebody throws them a pound."

I find those words in a way reflecting my own thoughts on the global state of poverty:

Source

because the whales want all the plankton for themselves

viewed, voted, commented, and re-steemed ...

anyone follows me i'll follow back within a few days

if you have complaints please check the blog or i can link you the why ... a resteem is a resteem, atm to 119 people, thats 117 chances to have it re-resteemed,

if you consider this spam, then by all means, the mute button is on the top right side, feel free to do so and you'll never have to read me again :)

otherwise, good luck ... be wary of whales and stalkers, content dictators and bedroom nurrd fascists ... extortion bots and hatebots ...

75.png

Please everybody help the poor people.
Upvote and Restreemed your post. @wolvoman80

We should stand beside them and help them.Thanks sharon,for sharing this kind of post.

yeah drug is more creating problem for them. and also they are do not have sadly home too :(

Thank you,sharon to sharing it with us.

Cause no one seems to care, 😢

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73