You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What does the Brexit really mean? For the rest of us.

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

update: @aenor I'm following you now. The above is a great comment, but you also made a reply further down, too deep for me to reply to. I found it insightful and pertinent, and so I upvoted it as well

So clearly you are pro-brexit. Which is cool, I'm all for self determination. Do really think the EU will let you leave without war?

The other side of the coin for those of you in the EU proper... How do you guys really feel about the UK leaving?
Do you think they should be able to leave if they want, or does the UK belong with the EU, even when times are tough?

Example, I would be truly hurt if my spouse decided to leave me, just because it was tough or even impossible to make ends meet. Even if it were only "until we could get up on our feet". Not sure I would stop her though. I might even do what I could to help her get into a better situation with whatever we had left.

But I think deep inside myself, I would be hurt that she didn't stay and try to tough it out.

To my mind, a federal government like the USA or the EU, is one giant marriage and separation and divorce can get messy.

Sort:  

Do really think the EU will let you leave without war?

Yup. We have a nuclear weapon and a permanent seat on the UN Security council.

Further, most Europeans skimp on their defence believing that someone else will defend them. At the moment, while the EU is trying to "punish" us, they're also begging us to send troops and planes to patrol the airspace of eastern europe which is being breached by unauthorised Russian aircraft. Sort of "We'e going to punish you, but please can you help us". You couldn't make it up.

So they are allied for the common defense, so long as the UK pays the bills?
Also I had no idea the UK had nukes. When per chance did the UK come into those?

Got our nukes in 1947 as well. Lots was happening that year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59226.71
ETH 2653.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50