Black Males Always Under Attack: The Latest From VerySmartBrothas.com

in #politics7 years ago

It came as a shock to me to hear that VerySmartBrothas.com wrote an article, echoing a 'thought' I first encountered last year. Ironically it was around this same time last year. I was in a facebook group, along with several black men and women - some of various sexual orientation. I was one of the few straight black males in that group.

SO this 'idea' is expressed, that "Straight Black Men Are The White People of Black People" - and I lost my cool. I felt the idea was divisive and flat out wrong. It puts blame on black men for issues black men have not caused. It also assigns power to black men that black men just do not have.

It turned into a literal fight between me, the homosexual black men in the group and a few of the black women who supported the idea. I ended up falling out with the women I was 'friends' with in that group, and was of course, removed from the group. The straight black male is always under attack; Unfortunately those attacks can come from our own people.

Yesterday VerySmartBrothas.com re-initiated this conversation, and thankfully several black people are taking to YouTube to stand against this nonsensical statement.

Please listen to Yvette Carnell with special guest, Dr. Tommy Curry to address this latest attack on Straight black males.

I won't dignify the website by linking 'to' their article. I wish my twitter was not suspended or I'd show you a literally rant I went on about this topic, about a year ago. Discussions like these only tear the black community apart further. Oftentimes these ideas are created by non black people, or people who's interests are not in uplifting black people.

It's a shame when black people then, go out and repeat these dangerous and divisive ideas.

How can black males be on the 'bottom' of every chart America has but still have 'power' to harm black women?

Yvette raises an important question, "Do We (black people specifically) misunderstand what it means to have Power?" She later goes on to ask "Do we misunderstand whiteness?" I love the responses that Dr. Tommy Curry gives to all of her questions. IF you'll take time to listen you'll fully understand how illogical this 'claim' about black males truly is. This is a discussion that goes over an hour, please get your libations ready.

Sort:  

*Short Appendage to this post :: I actually used to enjoy the articles I'd see from time to time on their platform. I am not sure what motivated this author to share such trash on their platform but it makes me re-think checking them out in the future.

Congratulations @topnetworkeral! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@originalworks come and do your thing!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @topnetworkeral to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39