Analyzing The Absurd Anti-Logic Of "If you don't vote, then you can't complain"

in #politics5 years ago (edited)

One thing I hear this time of year is "If you don’t vote, then you can’t complain." 

OR


"I vote so I have the right to complain."    

A more accurate translation of this statement might go something like this:

I’m giving permission to a random sociopath to boss me around and take my stuff, and also boss you around and take your stuff.  I do this so I can complain about people bossing me around and taking my stuff, but you don’t give your permission to anyone to boss you around and take your stuff, so you don’t have a right to complain about getting bossed around and having your stuff taken…..

WHAT?!!!!!!!? 


In what universe does that make sense?  

Number one, just because I don’t help choose one of the slave masters on the plantation, doesn’t mean that I can’t complain about being enslaved.     

Number two, by voting, you are actually painting a psychological veneer of legitimacy over something that can never be legitimate (or moral, etc.), that something being…..SLAVERY!!!

Number three, all people have the right to complain.  

Why? 

Because complaining doesn’t harm anyone.    

Number four, someone who doesn’t vote actually has a bigger reason to complain than someone who does vote.  

Why? 

Because someone who votes is actually willingly consenting to their own enslavement.  

END OF RANT

Thanks for your time and attention!

Just say "NO" to slavery!

Top image is from pixabay


 

Sort:  

Yeah I get that all the time, being told I am irresponsible for no voting especially as I have children xx well said xx

Good to hear from ya. Yes, it's amazing the guilt-tripping, fallacious arguments people make for slavery. The good news is, there are more people waking up every day.

Yep...like hitting your head against a brick wall (as it usually is..). It's said that actually less and less people are going voting, I don't know in the US, but at least last time in Spain, France and here in Italy there were lots of non voters. Unfortunately I believe it was more due to nihilism (or still waiting for "the right one") than an actual growth in awareness, so I don't know if this is positive or otherwise...

Thanks for the comment. I haven't checked the numbers in a while for the US, but I think it's similar. A large portion of the population doesn't vote, which is good, but I think for the same reason that you state: nihilism; or at least a feeling of helplessness. Awareness is growing, though. Just look at the number of anarchy writings here on Steemit. :)

At least there's that! XD

Curated for #informationwar (by @gregorypatrick)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 9,500 Steem Power and 40+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • I have shared this post to our Gab, Twitter, Tumblr and Freedomsocial feeds as well as our reddit!! Join us everywhere Decentralized News lives and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The IW, via the share button on your Steemit post!!!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Leadership/Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call

  • Check out our live interactive podcasts every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at 12am UTC.

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

The first time I ever voted for something,was to get steem listed on netcoins, and I recently voted on a steemit witness haha.
Last few days I am exploring tron and started to vote daily to get dividends.. Looks like I'll be voting just for crypto lol.
I dod try to avoid it but must adapt to pos 😂

Good for you! I wish I could say the same for myself. When I was much younger (and extremely ignorant and naive) I voted. Only once, but (sigh)....oh well, at least I learned. :)

Hahahahhaha Dont worry , you only did it back then because everybody else does it :)

Happy to meet someone who also has broke out of the shell and gone for it! :)

Yes, one thing I like about steemit is that there are quite a few anarchists on here. It makes life a little easier. :)

Yep I enjoy it also! Im sure the Dan made steemit as a meeting place for us ☺ I had no idea that the world online of crypto existed until steemit lol.
Thankful its happening though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85