Anarchy As Explained by "The Office"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

I must have watched through The Office about a million times… less so the later seasons than the earlier because I have good taste.

In a recent watch-through, this one line that I had never noticed before jumped out at me.

Here's a bit of context for those unfamiliar: The Office is a documentary style comedy that follows the workers of a paper supply firm in Scranton, PA. The branch manager, Michael Scott...

This guy.

...has just quit because Steve Carrell sensed the show's decline in quality and wanted to jump ship before it was too late... At least that’s how I like to imagine it.

The Office is left without a manager. This is how Jim Halpert, the show’s “hero”, describes it:

Immediately I thought to myself, "Wow. That's anarchy."

This is not a description of the philosophy behind anarchy; the idea that every person owns himself, but it is a perfect description of practical, everyday anarchy.

Every day we go about our business, interact with others, and do whatever we need to do to sustain our lives. 

We help others. 

We help ourselves. 

We trade.

We work.

In general, we all do these things peacefully, not because we're supervised, not because we're afraid of punishment, but because we know how to take care of ourselves. We don't need rulers to keep us in line. We know how to take care of ourselves and we do it every single day. 

Imagine that - people like us able to live our lives. Unsupervised.

~Seth


I am taking part in the 30 Day Steemit Power Up Challenge
All my posts are set to 100% Power Up until May 3. 

IMAGE SOURCES:

  1. Banner Image (edited and re-uploaded by me)
  2. Prison Mike
  3. Jim Quote (edited and re-uploaded by me)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47