You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What does the Brexit really mean? For the rest of us.

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

I watch the news on the political situations in both GB and USA. Clearly USA is headed toward disaster if any of the presidential candidates come to power.

I was an isolated (among my friends) supporter of Brexit if for no other reason than I despise the control of globalism. I was made to feel like a racist for my views. @aenor comment is fantastic, as it made sense of a feeling.

Since 2008, from which we are still recovering as a business, I have watched the world slide further into chaos. Over the same period, increasing numbers of South Africans have emigrated, mostly due to crime and limited economic opportunities. This has never been an option for us, as we have business skills specific to our country.

And I'm glad. I think that those of us who stay here are tougher, more vigilant and flexible in adapting to new circumstances, which are going to be vital skills in what I see as the inevitable "collapse". The world is teetering on the edge, and just as it took a relatively insignificant assasination to spark WWI, our spark is coming.

In Africa we are "away" from the centre of the action. And to my mind that can only be a good thing.

As for the African Union, it is something I don't hear about whatsoever. I don't watch local news, as I know it is purely government propaganda, maybe it is mentioned there? African countries in reality would nevet be able to work together, mainly because of tribalism.

Lastly, we have very few natural disasters in South Africa!!!

Sort:  

It's a shame you were made to feel like a racist because of your support for Brexit.
It got very messy coming up to the election but I did notice one thing: not those all in favour of Brexit are racist, but all racists are in favour of Brexit.
I also think a great deal of those racists are left feeling frustrated because:
a) they thought we'd be out of the EU the day after the election result was declared
b) the immigration 'problem' would cease and desist on the same day.
(Sorry to sideline your debate @williambanks)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47