You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Whistleblowers (Series): #19 - George Bush Jr's Own Chief Economist - 911 Was An Inside Job by The George Bush Government For Power Gain and Evil Intentions.

in #politics7 years ago

Some TL;DR summary coming soon? ;) Seriously I love this stuff but can't keep up. There seems to be a bot @tldr but it seems abandoned.

Sort:  

Thanks for your feedback, I can slow down a bit - that's fine. I have plenty else to post about!

Nah, maybe you'll make ebook from it? Hear about SteemitShelves? There is interest in curation beyond the 7 days time window here in Steemit. It's on my blog

Thanks for the idea. I'm not sure about the copyright practicalities of making an Ebook that primarily contains other people's messages - but I'll bare it in mind. Steemshelves.com looks a bit overpriced and uncared for, but the idea is a decent one.

Could be, just learned about it. But I do know that I want to know how to track assets. It does sound Orwellian but with every tech, it has a good and bad side? Like the sword cuts both sides? Did you notice? I mean I was so against tracking and now I am suggesting it. Mostly because I see how curation works here on Steemit? I really like the split, author rewards vs curators rewards. This could be recursive. I post something while using some art from you for example, you'd get earnings from my post.

Yes, all technology can be used to harm or help - it is the intention that makes the difference. That said, we must be cautious of technology that might overpower us and which is so powerful in it's effects that just one misuse of it could result in repairable damage.
The main issue I see with your idea is that there would need to be a way of proving who is the rightful owner of content and that requires human input and thus a 'central authority'.
Having a real human connection by way of directly communicating with authors and supporting them to have a high profile, so people know that content is from them is probably my preferred solution for all this - as problematic as it can be.

The main issue I see with your idea is that there would need to be a way of proving who is the rightful owner of content and that requires human input and thus a 'central authority'.

I don't think so, digital fingerprinting can also be a partial match if a certain % of the hashes are equal.

I think it could be even better than human through machine learning. Or you can check how PhotoDNA works.

It should be in my post!

I am aware of such fingerprinting technology works, yes - as I explored it about 10 years ago while working on a social network for content creators.
What I am pointing to is that just because someone provides a piece of media to a fingerprinting system for the first time, it does not automatically mean that they are the right owners. Therefore, it is not enough to simply assume that the first uploader is the rightful owner of the copyright and thus there will be a continual need to resolve conflicts arising as a result.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56998.67
ETH 2405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28