You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❌ A REALLY LONG RANT ON THE WATER SHORTAGE IN CAPE TOWN ❌

in #politics6 years ago

I remember the Cape town motto when there was a water shortage. (Every year almost!)

"If it's yellow, let it mellow"
"If it's brown, flush it down"

The corruption in all levels of the administration have led to this.

Corruption happens all over the world.
Stand and fight or do what I did and invest in a borehole and a generator for when Eskom screw up again.

Things haven't changed much since I left and to be totally honest.

If it wasn't for family commitments. I'd still be in Cape town right now.
Warts and all it's still a beautiful place to live.

Governments all over the world are ripping off the public. That's nothing new or surprising.

Decentralize everything.

Sort:  

hehe! You still didn't tell me if you are South African, and where you are now?

Unfortunately, we are still renting, so don't even have our own garden to create a borehole in. We have thought about those kind of solutions, but it will only be when we own our own home.

Cape town is truly amazing, I do love living here. If I am in SA, I will live here. I am originally from the Eastern Cape, and would not a fuck live there! Maybe on a small holding somewhere in the middle of the Transkei, but definitely not in PE, EL or any other place.

I absolutely and wholeheartedly agree - DECENTRALISE EVERYTHING!

I'm a hybrid :) Born in England to Irish parents so I'm a citizen of both countries.
My wife's father was a saffa so she got SA citizenship with no problem.

We only went to Cape town to see her family and maybe to buy a holiday home and ended up staying for nearly 8 years. lol

One of her cousins told me this quote.

" When the lion put's his paw on your shoulder.
The longer it stays there the deeper the claws go"

We are in the UK now. Family commitments. I'll never forget the Cape. It was a magical experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87