You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What does the Brexit really mean? For the rest of us.

in #politics8 years ago

Your very own Abe Lincoln said:
Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power.

Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely.
Lord Acton

And finally:
Those who seek power are not worthy of that power.
Plato

Yet we keep voting for them.

I'm a Brit and I don't like politics - which is odd indeed because I stood for election (and won) and represented my area in County Council for four years.
I promised only one thing as I canvassed the electorate. I promised to do my best. I am a politician that kept all my promises because I kept it to one - keep it simple, stupid :)

The unfortunate thing with politics of late is that it seems some people have become 'career politicians' and look at the position as one of power and a way of lining the pockets of themselves and their 'buddies'.
At one time, being a local Councillor was done with the best intentions, with benefit for the town being topmost in their priorities.
What a shame those days seem to be done.

Sort:  

And our very own John Wilkes Booth said
"Sic semper tyrannis"
Just sayin, neither belligerent in a war is innocent.

People forget that Lincoln suspended due process and habeus corpus, essentially castratring the constitution in the process. He also violated the constitution by authorizing the printing of currency that could not be backed by specie as was mandated in the constitution. Doing this allowed the North to muster more resources than they otherwise had, at the expense of generations who had to repay that debt.

For what it's worth, you've got my vote!

update: bah, this comment and the one above were supposed to be a single comment directed @michelle.gent however something went weird with the post and update mechanism

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50