The common theme

in #politics5 years ago (edited)

So I may be asking for enemies here, but I promise I come in peace. It seems to me that the establishment is somewhat decided on the candidates they want, and the identity politics they must weaponize to secure the primary, and I wonder if anyone else is noticing.



Who actually won?


The first night you could say it was Warren, but without a doubt the second night belonged to Harris. Now, nobody seems to be batting an eye here, in the sense that women are leading so to speak, but policies aside, which some I completely disagree with, it is an easier sell these days, isn't it?

We may have talked about women in politics being at a disadvantage, and that has been certainly the case for generations, but it seems that after the failed campaign of Hillary, one major shift did actually take place. Being a woman running for president is now normal, and more so, probably better.

Why better?


Because in order for the democrats to sell us the idea that Trump is a bad man, who hates women, who better to be the hero of the story but a woman. It's easy to understand the psychological catapult they are using on the base, and to be honest, It's somewhat genius.

Not endorsing


I should end this short post of mine making it absolutely clear that I'm not endorsing Kamala or Warren at this point. Among the democrats, at least at this very second, I rather prefer Tulsi and Yang, but I'm undecided, and since I'm technically a registered Republican, it would not matter much in the primaries anyways.

On another note... The debates, both nights that is, were terribly done. MSNBC needs to step up their game, they really dropped the ball in format, execution and even the questions were either softball platitude evoking smoke, or framed completely off.

MenO

Sort:  

Never voted and proud of it.

Elections are no different from gladitorial games, designed to entertain and distract the masses, while providing an outlet for the undirected energy of the masses. Did Consulship of Imperial, and even Republican, Rome matter at all in the overarching policies of that proto-state? In a more elegant time, men understood their station and place in the social hierarchy. In our turbulent era, the mob must be appeased, flattered, and distracted, even as their unlettered opinions remain as irrelevant as during the past 10,000 years of written history.

Honestly the theme seemed to be free stuff and ideas that only appeal to 10 to 20 percent of people like getting rid of private insurance. Also the appeal that if you come into a country by breaking their border laws you are not in some way committing a crime which is completely false no matter what country it is. Just my thoughts and I will tell you that the big loser for sure was Beto. Just my view have a good one.

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven’t paid much attention to the debates yet. I’ll likely just watch a few quick highlight reels to get a feel for what’s going on. Honestly though, I’m unimpressed with the Democratic Party in general. I’m unimpressed with both parties.

It sounds aweful (because it is) but I still think Trump might be the best candidate out of the lot. That’s what I believed in 2016 as well... how are we producing such garbage candidates? Maybe because the job of being president is running its course and we need a new political system in place rather than having 1 odd human being step up to fill this role.

I don’t like trump, but he brings a strong presence and strength is generally what America will vote for, imo.

Seems way too premeditated. Can't we just give them sharp sticks and the victor is the last person standing?

Politics is just pure entertainment these days, its like watching the WWE lol

Except one is sadly real

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 249 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55