Is there a dark agenda behind the social movements of today?

in #politics7 years ago

Is there a dark agenda behind the social movements of today?

I know that this may be discarded by the community, and that it will be disliked by a lot of people, If you are one of those people please tell me what you don’t like, and what I get wrong, lets spark debate rather than violence

The gained ability of the society to speak and have a voice is one of the best things that have happen, but is it getting out of hand? Are people being responsible with this tool?
I don’t know how strong this problem is in the English speaking community, but as a Spanish speaker I can say is an increasing issue in social media of Spanish language

Movements that are supposed to bring equality and freedom are doing the opposite, they are using the words equity and equality as the same, and they are selling their speech as a definite true without any chance of a debate

Don’t get me wrong, there are good movements out there, the anti-rape campaign, the womens that work hard for the protection and empowerment of the female community, but this last has been damaged by some sectors of the current feminist movement ant the LGTB movement, the speech of this sectors are polemic, and because they are polemic they get free publicity, and as we all know, there is no such thing as bad publicity

This account with 10k followers, is preaching that we need a white people-free space, the second tweet says “Dear white people, why are you so mad at being ban from a space and from participation? Oh, it’s because you are not used to it and because you think you have the right of being anywhere” and the third tweet says “ a space for black people excluding white people is a safe space. A space for reflection, up growth, debate, political construction, intracommunity” that tweet has been retweeted 87 times, and liked by 324 people

So, that kind of speech sounds like racial segregation to me, all of what the humanity have progress in terms of inclusion and equality thrown away by this kind of speech

I have encounter the same up close in the LGTB community, where I have seen people being aggressive to other people just for disagreeing with some certain demands, like the fact that we must believe that a male can be turned into a female despite biology, I completely accept that transgender people must have the same rights as everyone, but I can’t lie to myself

2 weeks ago while talking with my girlfriend’s sister, she told me that the only reason she doesn’t beat the shit out of me was because of my girlfriend, but that in other circumstances she would have done it, just because I said that despite any surgery, conduct or appearance, a person born as a male will die as a male, that was my point of view, I don’t have to be insulted and beaten for that, or be called “tansphobic”, where healthy debate plays in here? And is not the first time I have encounter people like this, I feel like authoritarianism and fanaticism is hiding behind noble causes, and that’s make me pretty mad since this kind of people is throwing away what we have achieved in terms of civil rights, replacing debate with verbal violence when they feel threaten

I fear that soon society will start to give jobs or positions in the government considering race or social groups over the merits, just to be inclusive, and this is bad and dangerous, if meritocracy is killed, stupidity becomes the norm

And the worst of all of this, is that I know that this kind of people is not the one that counts, and they are not the majority, but they are loud, they are polemic, they are getting the attention, at least that’s the case in the Spanish speaking community, and in social media like twitter a lot of users share this kind of tweets just to get more likes and followers, sharing a way of thinking that induce fanaticism and hatred against social groups, and this isn’t right

P.S. most of this type of speech comes from radical neo communists, again, at least in the Spanish speaking community

What do you think?

If you speak Spanish I recommend you to read this article by @wildermanjnm Por qué la controversia política no le hace ningún bien al cine

Also i recommend to read Nine Parts of Desire by Geraldine Brooks

image sources 1 2

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is decidedly so

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically

k0nimaki Luis Andrés tweeted @ 20 Jan 2018 - 00:36 UTC

@desiree_bela En la puta vida he visto un cartel con un "espacio sólo para blancos" en este país. Esta moda de los… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

I think you are dead on. There are good movements and there are movements that sound good, but the adherents do not know what they are really doing. BLM here in America seems like a good example. Equal rights for African Americans and transparency in the Police system? Sounds great to me. What they practice however doesn't match with what they preach. Instances of riots gone wrong on such a large scale have ruined the "few bad apples" defense in my eyes and that is sad. They had the ability to have a really meaningful movement and threw it down the drain with reactionary tactics and confusing equality for wanting a turn at the wheel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05