You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would the world be Safer without Nuclear Weapons? Discussion…

in #politics8 years ago

There is no way that we can see a world without nuclear weapons.
It was invented, now it is there forever. And these people who are protesting against it are loosing his time and should work for a better cause.

If a nation that posesses nuclear weapons now deactivates them, other countries will build their own and this would only create more friction.

It is better let the countries that already have them to maintain them and avoid countries like Iran or North Korea to build their own, because THESE guys really cannot be trusted.

Sort:  

@leonir Thanks for your contribution. I'm going to assume you answer to the questions are the same as @busser and myself. I agree, and I think the conversation topic I was trying to promote was, maybe nuclear weapons have saved hundreds of thousands of lives through their 60+ years in existence. What are your thoughts on that, especially linked to the cold war?

Obviously there are negatives, but I agree with you, there is no peaceful or legitimate way of ridding ourselves of Nuclear Weapons in this world, so let's not protest, let's promote safety and reduction...

On your last point, it's a tough one. It's hard to tell a country your not allowed to own nuclear weapons, when you (the country) own them yourself, and in the US's case, are the only country to use them in warfare. I trust the US, I trust Russia, I trust China etc I don't trust certain other countries trying to possess nuclear weapons, however I can see the injustice where these countries believe they are at risk from western forces and possibly see Nuclear Weapons as the Ultimate defence...

Also, have you seen The Propaganda Games on Netflix. Worth a watch...

Hello, @hisnameisolllie

The question here, I think, is History and reality. No one of the countries that already have nuclear weapons have used it after WW2. They have it, but no one is willing to use it, because they KNOW what would happen then.

But, the countries I´ve mentioned have an agenda to USE these nuclear weapons in war activities, besides the consequences of this act for the rest of the world (we). They have political AND religious "reasons" and have INTENTIONS to USE the weapons.

I think it is much better for the rest of the world to avoid religious fanatics to put his hands on nuclear weapons... and I do not see any injustice in this position.

Not only can we see a world without nuclear weapons. I am happy to claim that there have never been nuclear weapons. The implications are marvelous. https://steemit.com/nuclear/@not-the-bomb/the-nuclear-hoax-some-reasons-why-i-don-t-believe-nuclear-weapons-exist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61