Why Free Speech is Everything.

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Can you generally tell the difference between hateful speech and a direct threat?


I can.

I fully support the individual, nature-conferred freedom of expression called "free speech." As an anarchist, I recognize that this does not mean anybody can barge onto my property and start spewing hate.

What I do recognize is the nature-conferred ability of every individual to vocal and written self-expression, and the necessity of individuals to be free to do so within Voluntaryist property norms.

I am not a Nazi, but it is wrong for me to "punch a Nazi" because of what they have simply said. If, however, a Nazi says "I am going to kill you tonight," then most competent arbiters would construe my punch to be a self-preservativory one, done in self-defense.

When speech is restricted, there is NO FREEDOM. Speech literally shapes and creates the reality we experience in so many ways.

Many say that the free speech of "Nazis" should not be respected. This is absurd. To respect free speech for one individual is to respect it for all. To use the violence of the state to keep a Neo-Nazi from simply speaking is to eventually advocate state violence against yourself when the tables of social and state norms turn. This is natural law and "karma" in action.


The real problem here, is the idea of "public property." Now we have a million people claiming to own the same property, and all trying to decide the rules for said property. This is why privatizationof everything is a necessity. Nature itself is essentially a private enterprise. There is order and propriety (property).

For now, free speech must not be met with violence on said "properties."

We must fight the real enemy. The state.

(Please enjoy the video at the top of the page.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

In the end, Trump was right. There were two sides in Charlottesville. But the MSM could never bring itself to admit there are two sides.

And for clarity, I believe Naziism is abhorrent, KKK is abhorrent, etc. And wrong.

But even then there can be two sides.

The folks that were using violence in Charlottesville, to try to stop speech they don't like, were also wrong.

there is always two sides of a statement :')

Upvoted, shared... Thank You for saying it... The double edged ax swings both ways and folks need to engage the brain before their mouths when trying to control everything.

Fitting quote: "I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it. by Evelyn Beatrice Hall

I think this sentence sums it all up.

"To respect free speech for one individual is to respect it for all."

To be offended by someone freedom of speech is a choice. Tolerating free speech is a necessity.

Have a nice day, man.

Sometimes I find it hard to balance between what I really want to say and what I should say. It just slipped through my mouth, then ended up with an awkward situation. Free of speech... but everything free comes with a price.

Very true. And "price" is the right word.

I'm glad somewhere in the world reason still exist. it seems very absent these days in the USA. This week has been like a twilight zone episode and I really dont care to see its conclusion.

Peace be with you

You raise some good points. I like how straightforward you are. Along the same lines as your video on freedom of speech, here is a 2-minute video link to Steve Hugues' hilarious skit on "being offended". You've probably seen it already... just adding a little touch of humour to such a sensitive/serious topic.

I like how you write, and how straightforward you are. Your video reminded me of Steve Hugues' hilarious skit on "being offended"... Just adding a humorous note to a somewhat sensitive/serious topic

Thanks a lot, @osm0sis. I appreciate that. I also really like this skit!

Brilliant talk on free speech. Everyone has a right to their opinions so long as they don't impinge on others rights.

This is why I love this platform man :) Freedom is everywhere!

All the best bro ❤︎.

You too, @vangelov. Cheers!

I think it's generally easy to tell the difference between hateful speech and a direct threat. I agree that whoever says it isn't is playing stupid.

Really?

"I would kill them if I could" - is that hateful speech or a direct threat? (From this video)

https://steemit.com/politics/@lennstar/history-is-repeating

For the Alt-rights in this video, at least those in the bus, that is cleary only the use of Free Speech. At around minute 7f.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89