You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Work the Polls, part 5 -- Election Day

in #politics8 years ago

Thanks for all the work you put into reporting your experience as a poll worker. My grandfather proudly did that for decades in Missouri. He took it very seriously. I much prefer our system here in Oregon, though. We get a ballot in the mail and a voter's pamplhet, which is really a small book made of the same paper as a newspaper, but in magazine form. The pamphlet has all the candidates' statements, the text of all ballot initiatives. We fill out the ballot at our leisure. And then drop it in the mailbox or in special pickup boxes all over town. It's so civilized. We can check online that our ballot has gotten in - and then all the political phone calls stop, lol.

Oregon also just started automatic voter registration with any transaction at a Department of Motor Vehicles. We had 250,000 new voters from that this year. Anyway, we have over 80% participation in 2012 and 79% in 2016. The automatically registered people didn't vote at a high rate, about 43%. But that means people who actively register to vote participate at really high rates.

I hope that your part of the country can get automatic voter registration and vote by mail. Both really do increase participation -- and without all the rigamarole that you've described in your series. Thanks, though, for your service as a poll worker. Where there is in-person voting, your work is an important part of democracy!

Sort:  

I had a voter who recently moved here to NC describe that system to me in less detail than you just did. Sounds entirely civilized, although I'm sure there are still ways to game the system, as there are with any system.

To be honest, I don't know if I'll do it again. It was a good learning experience, and like jury duty, I think everyone should do it at least once. It's not a good job, though -- temporary, long hours, not great pay, no benefits. It's more like working at a food bank where they let you take food home at the end of the shift. It would depend on where my business was at during the next election. If I had some time, maybe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35